Easy Oven Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
This is a great recipe! Always a big hit. I substituted red wine for the ginger ale and it makes the meat all that more tender. Definitely try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
My husband and I couldn't believe how this recipe turned out!! I would never have thought to use gingerale in a recipe other than a punch. We enjoyed it so much. Definately a keeper!!! I added sweet baby carrots and some potatoes as well as some garlic, bayleaves oregano and basil just to make it a complete meal and to spice it up a little. Thanks so much for submitting this recipe for everyone to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
GREAT & EASY!! I used "beefy onion" dry soup mix and added some baby carrots the last two hours of cooking and served with mashed potatoes. The ale gave it a subtle sweet taste and ofcourse, the meat was VERY tender. I bet this would work in a slow cooker too. Either way, its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
This was very good. I thickened up the sauce to make a nice gravy. Prepared some bowtie pasta & placed the stew and gravy over it. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
Did not care for the "artificial" taste imparted by the soup mix. Broth needed thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
For me, this dish was just okay. It was definitely quick and easy, but not a great meal for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
i chose this recipe, because it looked quick and easy. a little disappointed. it took longer than 4 hours for the beef to get tender, didn't have much of a flavor and it was really watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This recipe as written is EXTREMELY bland...i had to amp up the spices at the end (too bad it was almost fully cooked by the time i found this out!). I added garlic powder and quite a bit of Tony's to compensate for the lack of flavour. The meat (london broil) was a bit tough and stringly, too, but it would have helped if my husband would've stayed out of it so it could cook properly. Not sure i will ever try this recipe again, but if i do it will be with MAJOR changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonlight58

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I made this for dinner this cold evening thinking it sounded just right. Maybe for someone else though, not my family. I followed this recipe to the letter, and that's rare. I served it over steamed white rice. We just didn't like the flavor of the beef and the consistancy of the "juice". I give this three stars because I believe with some adjustments such as fresh minced garlic, and water or broth in place of the ginger ale. I would add all sorts of goodies as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States