Easy Oven Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This recipe as written is EXTREMELY bland...i had to amp up the spices at the end (too bad it was almost fully cooked by the time i found this out!). I added garlic powder and quite a bit of Tony's to compensate for the lack of flavour. The meat (london broil) was a bit tough and stringly, too, but it would have helped if my husband would've stayed out of it so it could cook properly. Not sure i will ever try this recipe again, but if i do it will be with MAJOR changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonlight58

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I made this for dinner this cold evening thinking it sounded just right. Maybe for someone else though, not my family. I followed this recipe to the letter, and that's rare. I served it over steamed white rice. We just didn't like the flavor of the beef and the consistancy of the "juice". I give this three stars because I believe with some adjustments such as fresh minced garlic, and water or broth in place of the ginger ale. I would add all sorts of goodies as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
For me, this dish was just okay. It was definitely quick and easy, but not a great meal for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
i chose this recipe, because it looked quick and easy. a little disappointed. it took longer than 4 hours for the beef to get tender, didn't have much of a flavor and it was really watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
My husband and I couldn't believe how this recipe turned out!! I would never have thought to use gingerale in a recipe other than a punch. We enjoyed it so much. Definately a keeper!!! I added sweet baby carrots and some potatoes as well as some garlic, bayleaves oregano and basil just to make it a complete meal and to spice it up a little. Thanks so much for submitting this recipe for everyone to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
Did not care for the "artificial" taste imparted by the soup mix. Broth needed thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
This was very good. I thickened up the sauce to make a nice gravy. Prepared some bowtie pasta & placed the stew and gravy over it. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
GREAT & EASY!! I used "beefy onion" dry soup mix and added some baby carrots the last two hours of cooking and served with mashed potatoes. The ale gave it a subtle sweet taste and ofcourse, the meat was VERY tender. I bet this would work in a slow cooker too. Either way, its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
This is a great recipe! Always a big hit. I substituted red wine for the ginger ale and it makes the meat all that more tender. Definitely try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States