Easy OREO Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I have made these for several years and have also used Nutter Butters, vanilla oreos, and mint oreos. Always turn out yummy! I throw the cookies in the food processor and pulse them to crumbs, then add softened cream cheese and pulse just until blended. I refrigerate then use a cookie scoop and roll in powdered sugar. I often have the kids make these because it is so quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
AWESOME! Tips: -Use a cookie scoop so they're all the same size. -Use different flavors of oreos. I love using berry or mint. -To add even more flavor options, add a couple tablespoons of coffee syrup flavoring (like raspberry, creme de menthe, or vanilla) -These don't have to STAY in the fridge for a party. They can be out for a little bit and it won't hurt them. I wouldn't go over an hour or so though. -Use candy coating for a final "fancy" outside. -Use sprinkles instead of cookie crumbs on top. Or better yet, use a seasonal sprinkle for a festive look!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Winter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
We spooned the Oreo mixture onto parchment paper, put in frig then rolled into balls and used choc almond bark with spoons, worked great. Love what you can combine to make these different every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith McIntosh
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
So easy and very delicious. As someone else said do not use double stuff Oreos if you chill or freeze the balls they hold together better. I do the same when I make cake pops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith McIntosh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Every one LOVED these! I made them a week ahead, froze them and thawed before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
The balls are good but I didn't give it a 5 star because I find it simply taste like an "Oreo"!! Nothing special. I used the exact ingredients stated in the recipe. I did the following and they were not messy at all and perfect in appearance. 1.) I used my food processor to chop the oreos then I added the Cream cheese to the food processor. I left it on chop until all of the oreos were completely mixed with the cream cheese. 2) Using a 1 tbsp measuring spoon, I scooped a heaping spoonful of mixture (packing it against the side of the bowl) then popped it out on the edge of the ball. I placed them on a tray covered in wax paper. I then stuck toothpicks in them to allow me to hold it while dipping. 3 )I put them in the freezer for about 45 minutes. 4) After freezing, melt chocolate in a dish deep enough to cover the ball when dipped. I used a measuring cup. Melt chocolate only until smooth (in attempt to keep the temperature as low as possible). 5) ONLY remove a few balls at a time. Use toothpick to dip into chocolate. Place on a tray. 6) Sprinkle crushed oreos on top while chocolate is still soft (bc they will not stick later). 7) Once balls have hardened, gently pull out toothpicks. Suggestion: Do not leave balls on counter too long. If you keep them i the refrigerator, they will hold and remain hard enough to eat without messy fingers!!! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
It coming out okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Lacy Kyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Just made my first “test batch” in preparation for the holidays and brought some to work to share. They were a huge hit! I made half with milk chocolate and half with white chocolate. I used several tips found in other reviewers’ comments – I chilled the dough in the fridge for about 30 minutes before making the balls. Then I froze the balls on 2 separate baking sheets for an hour before dipping in the chocolate, and took one sheet out at a time for dipping. I added vegetable oil to the chocolate and had no problem with the chocolate getting too thick and the frozen balls didn’t fall apart in the chocolate. I tried a couple of methods for dipping – the toothpick method worked well for coating, but I messed up the top of the balls trying to get the toothpick out. When I tried to fill the hole and with chocolate it just made the tops messy looking. The fork and spoon method worked best for me. I am already thinking of varieties for Christmas – mint Oreos with Andes chocolate chip morsel coating, crushed peppermint on top, red/green sprinkles, etc. Easy and excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This recipe tastes good but is pretty awful to make. I spent a ton of time waiting for things to be the right temperature. First, softening the cream cheese. Then I froze the oreo/cream cheese balls with toothpicks per other reviews to make dipping it in the chocolate easier. They had to be REALLY frozen for the dipping to go well. If they were still soft at all, they would fall apart while i was doing the chocolate part. Then I stuck them in the freezer again after they were coated in chocolate for a few minutes. Again, tastes really good, but isn't as easy as the recipe seems, and with all the added wait time, it took way longer than 1.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Make these for holidays. Love that Oreo has come out with so many new flavors... yum and totally addicting... giving away all of them this year, trying to keep the holiday pounds off lol...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,914) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States