Easy OREO Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
So easy!! Every time I bring these I get asked for the recipe. I have made the with every flavor that oreo makes. They are very good with original dipped in white almond bark. YUM!! Make sure to use two spoons to roll the balls around in the chocolate. I did this for the first time and don't know why I didn't do it sooner. I have always refrigerated them and then used a toothpick to assist in the coating process. My son and I did three batches in a half an hour!! I will never think twice about making these because of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Luling, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
These are delicious -- a big hit at my Christmas cocktail party. I preferred the batch with a white chocolate coating better than the milk or dark chocolate, personally. Also, I recommend making some with mint Oreos instead of the regular ones for a little extra deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
So heavenly! After shaping into balls, I put in the freezer for 30 minutes. Then I dipped them into melted milk chocolate instead of Semi Sweet (personal preference) These are so easy to make, and just plain wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Yummy and easy. I didn't top the chocolate ball with cookie. This could make a great gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
These were super easy and very tasty. Took in the limo with a large group on a wine tour. Nothing better than chocolate and red wine. Next time I will add a small amount of shortening to the chocolate before for dipping. Seems to make a smoother chocolate. Thins it down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
For ease and short ingredient list, this recipe is excellent. My friends are all raving about my 'melt in your mouth' truffles. I only needed about 1 box + 2 squares of semi-sweet chocolate per batch (important to note if you're multiplying the recipe - of course you can always dip extra oreos, pretzels, fruit...have an all out fondue party). And definately freeze 20 min or so between rolling and dipping and again before rolling in extra oreo or they will lose shape. You can add peppermint extract to the chocolate for a twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I make these all the time -- my boyfriend begs me to make them! I don't normally top mine with crumbs though. Also, I use the fat-free cream cheese because it's easier to mix with the Oreos. Try using mint or peanut butter oreos - taste just like your favorite Girl Scout cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelcey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I made one truffle to experiment because I only had Trader Joe's Joe-Joe's which are candy cane flavored oreo cookies. I eye-balled the cream cheese and mixed it with one crushed cookie, then dipped it in a melted Dove dark chocolate (red wrapper) promise. It made my eyes roll in the back of my head! These are awesome and I will make it exactly this way in huge batches to give away this Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Attica, Greece
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
These truffles are absolutely PERFECT! I didn't reserve extra crumbs for decorating, but I did coat in dark chocolate almond bark and drizzle with white chocolate. I will probably do the opposite next time as I think white chocolate/white almond bark would taste delicious on these already awesome candies. The almond bark is a bit cheaper and it is fast to simply pop it in the microwave for a quick melting. I made them for my family and my husband's family at Thanksgiving, and they were devoured before I could get out of the kitchen. If the cookie/cream cheese mix is too soft, pop it in the fridge for about 20 minutes before rolling them into balls. Although the balls will look small when you first make them up, they really get bigger when they are dipped in chocolate. These are definetly going to be a regular addition to my Christmas candy plates. (I am making them with peppermint bark, peanut butter ritz dipped in chocolate, chocolate pretzels, and "puppy chow" mix) Since making the oreo truffles for my family, several of them have already made it again for themselves at home. I thought I love peanut butter balls the best, but oreo truffles are now my favorite holiday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BetteDavisLies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milan, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
These are fantastic, and so easy. I was afraid they would be too sweet, but they were just perfect. One note - don't try to make double the recipe in one bowl. Make one batch at a time. I tried to save time (even though they are quick to make anyway), and it was impossible to mix them properly, so I had to keep them in the freezer so they wouldn't fall apart. Stick to one batch at a time and they are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,868) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States