Easy One-Step Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I have made this several times. The first time I made it exactly as written. The cooking method is great--the method gets 5 stars from me. Sure, there is one less pot to clean up, which is great, of course. But what I liked even better was that by cooking the pasta in the sauce, it eliminated that little ring of water that always seems to gather around the edge of my plate when I have pasta with sauce. It also ensures that all the noodles are covered in sauce. However, I had to deduct 2 stars from my rating because the sauce comes out tasting rather bland. However, after making this a few more times, I was able to take care of that problem. Instead of mixing in 2 cups of water, I use 1 cup of water, and 1 cup of tomato juice (I prefer V8 Hot & Spicy to give the sauce a bit of a kick). I also always add a pound of browned ground beef, because I don't like meatless pasta dishes. I will continue to make this recipe with my changes, because I love the cooking method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlotteMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I wasn't sure about this recipe but went ahead and made it and was really happy with the results. It was quick to make and very tasty, I will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I followed recipe as followed and I thought it watered down my sauce to much. It was decent. Dont think I will make it again though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
5 stars for fast, easy, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Not spectacular, but basic and easy. Good in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I have to say I was skeptical but it turned out great! I sauteed some onion, bell pepper, mushrooms and zuchini in olive oil before adding the sauce and water...turned out great! I did have to add some more water while simmering as the noodles weren't quite al dente yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I'm giving it 5 stars because the finished product was fantastic. I changed it a bit because I felt like there would be way too much sauce. I used a pound of spaghetti, added 3 cups of chicken broth, 1 cup of whole milk, and still had to add more liquid to ensure the noodles were fully cooked. I also added some ground beef with onion, peppers and garlic once the noodles were done cooking, and it was amazing. I don't know if I'll ever make spaghetti the "conventional" way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Didn't turn out like I wanted it too. I'll try again, but maybe I'll use thin spaghetti instead of regular! I added garlic powder, onion powder, salt & pepper before adding the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
did not care for it we ate it but jus tdidnt taste the same would rather take a few extra mins to wash the other pot or just add the jar of sauce to same pot after noodles are drained
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
So simple! But so easy! A great "Oops I didn't make dinner" meal that doesn't result in fast food. 5 stars for simplicity - add to it what you'd like to make up different tastes. Me? A Jalepeno, ground beef, an onion, and chicken stock to make the flavour go further. But this would totally work as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States