Easy Omelet in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
While I agree this is a good camping recipe, or if you have a larger crowd for breakfast at home, it is definitely not a substitute for a quality omelet. I experimented with it several times, and it either turns out with the egg overcooked, or too runny. Good for those times when "quick and easy" takes precedence over taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I made these last night and my crew loved it! My pickiest eater even enjoyed it! They immediately asked that I cook them again! The omelet comes out oddly shaped but who cares, it perfectly cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Great, but you must use qt. size FREEZER bags. Sandwich size is too small, and food storage bags are too thin and will melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
PLEASE CHECK WITH THE MANUFACTURER OF YOUR PLASTIC BAGS TO MAKE SURE THAT THEY ARE SUITABLE FOR COOKING FOODS (NO LEACHING OF PLASTICS WHEN HEATED).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Definitely a good idea for camping. I used a quart size bag because I didn't have resealable sandwich bag size. I would recommend smaller bag, as larger bag spread out ingredients to much. I also used only 1 egg and substituted fresh spinach for green pepper. I used too much mushroom and spinach for the amount of egg I used as these are watery products. I also found it seemed to stick to inside of bag. Think I will stick to fry pan inside the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Definitely use the FREEZER bags! Anything less will spring a leak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkthonak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Great for camping. Quick, simple and nourishing. Checked out the zip loc site re: toxicity of the bag. To be honest you would have to eat a lot of food, cooked in the bags to be affected. No BPA's or dioxin. I will still cook this way. If you can microwave in it, it's OK. Sometimes I think there is too much scaremongering about cooking methods and different foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Worked great! I've heard of these before but not tried them. I didn't follow recipe exactly, only the cooking method. I whisked the eggs before adding to bag. Used black pepper, garlic salt, tiny bit of paprika, sliced sausage links, and garden tomatoes. I'm sure it would be great as written, too, lol but I was trying to get this done during my son's nap time and didn't feel like prepping veggies. This would be great for camping, houseguests, or the morning after slumber parties. Worked perfectly, but also LOOKED nice, which is not something I was expecting out of something cooked in a sandwich bag! I used regular, generic sandwich bags and it was fine, no need for pricier freezer bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
We love to do this with large groups. Prep before you go and easy clean up. I recommend using small ziplock freezer bags. Trust me I'm speaking from experience. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
One of my favorites while we are camping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Omelet Muffins

See how to make the perfect paleo-friendly, grab-and-go breakfast treat.

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Simple Italian Omelet

A couple simple techniques are all you need to make perfect omelets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States