Easy Olive Oil, Tomato, and Basil Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I've been making this one for quite awhile with two ingredient additions--mozzarella & a dash of cayenne pepper. I keep the rest of the ingredients the same, but I do change the method! In a large bowl, I mix the olive oil with the minced garlic, salt, and a dash of cayenne pepper, and mash them altogether to infuse the OO with flavor. I soak the roma tomatoes (2-3x more than recipe calls for) in the OO mixture since the tomatoes hold more flavor than any other ingredient. I then add cubed mozzarella and the cooked bowtie pasta, mix it altogether, THEN scoop out 1-2cups at a time and saute it in a skillet over high heat until the mozzarella is bubbly and going brown, adding the basil at the end so it doesn't get brittle and overcooked. And I plate it. DELISH! Helped me woo my husband when we were dating; he still remembers this simple dish as one of his faves that I make. ;-) Thanks, CookinGirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Definitely easy and always delicious! Tomato and basil are a classic combination and when they pair with pasta it's bound to be good. I cut the recipe in half and used more tomatoes, a bit less olive oil, and added 1/4 tsp. of crushed red pepper flakes. I topped it with shredded Parmesan before serving. This is a very versatile recipe that you can suite to your own tastes - use your favorite pasta, add a splash or red wine vinegar or balsamic, throw in some capers, feta cheese, mozzarella or Parmesan. No matter what you do it's gonna be tasty. Overall, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
I enjoy making this pasta dish often. I added more tomatoes, some crumbled (plain) feta cheese and toasted pine nuts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
As an Italian gal lucky enough to grow up with great Italian food, this is classic Italian cooking at it's simplest and best, and I'm so glad it's been submitted in recipe form so even those not familiar with it will give it a try. Simple preparation with fresh, in season tomatoes and basil, it's as good as a quick, satisfying meal as it is a pretty and flavorful side dish. No changes or additions are necessary, though unlike hubby I like freshly grated Parmesan on mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Excellent. I happen to have (fresh from the farm) Roma tomatoes and basil so I had to make this. Of course I added extra tomatoes, basil and garlic and used less olive oil...also added parm cheese...what a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Wow!!! Awesome!!! LOVED IT! I am hoping to make this one again VERY SOON! Also, I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of chopping tomatoes, and instead of fresh basil, I used one-eighth of a cup (2 tablespoons) of dried basil. Delicious! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
This recipe was pretty good and perfect for a quick last-minute meal. I think it would have been better with more tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
Something new and different from the pasta salad I usually make. I put some parmesan on it which was very good, if I make it again I'll add olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This really hit the spot! This is an awesome EASY vegan recipe. I made these modifications...mixed tomato, 4 garlic cloves minced, chopped basil and olive oil 2 hours in advance and let it sit out to room temperature, sauted a chopped onion in olive oil until soft. Added the tomato mixture to the onion for about 2 minutes just to warm it. Tossed with pasta and 1/2 small can of diced olives (like the picture). Salt, pepper, done! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
My family absolutely loved this dish!!! My 2 year old son is gluten intolerant and I made this dish with gluten-free Tinkyada pasta for our whole family. For once, I didn't have to cook 2 separate dinners which was ABSOLUTELY wonderful. The pasta was very tasty. I actually prepared Gingered Chicken Breast (also on the AllRecipes site) and cut that up and added it and grilled veggies to the pasta to make a complete meal. It was so good. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States