Easy Olive Oil, Tomato, and Basil Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
our favorite pasta dish, hot or cold. to make it simple and easily available, i used minced dried garlin and dried basil. i toss it in a small bowl with FOUR roma tomatoes and plenty of EVOO, and i probably add about triple the dried equivalents for the fresh ingredients for both the garlic and basil, and add course sea salt and cayenne for a little heat. i place the bowl on a burner on very low heat to lock in the flavor in the oil while the pasta boils. even my 18 month old will not touch pasta sauce after having this version. love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Wow, this is really good. I love the test. I added mozzarella cheese, and I used garlic powder instead of fresh garlic. I also sauted it a little to melt the cheese. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This is a lovely and inexpensive recipe. I serve this to my kids with warm garlic bread, a green salad and dark purple grape juice (in wine glasses) for our "Italian meal". :) Any shape of pasta will work. I always add extra garlic. Use good quality, cold pressed olive oil (the really dark green stuff) for the best taste. We also add some of the sundried tomatoes packed in olive oil for extra flavour and a sprinkle of good parmesan and dried red chiles on top. Flavour is better the next day. We fight over the leftovers. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLAYKITTENPIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I had to find recipes that were vegan friendly for some friends that were coming over for dinner. Used this recipe for three occasions now and its always a fresh summer (cheap)hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was simple and really yummy. I did it over cheese tortellini and left out the tomatoes (my boyfriend isn't a fan of veggies) I didn't have fresh basil so I used the basil I did have from my herb collection and I felt like the recipe turned out great :) Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Easy and Delicious. Works for the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
It was very good! I added mozzarella and tomatoe sauce, with no tomatoes, and it really enhanced the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
As an Italian gal lucky enough to grow up with great Italian food, this is classic Italian cooking at it's simplest and best, and I'm so glad it's been submitted in recipe form so even those not familiar with it will give it a try. Simple preparation with fresh, in season tomatoes and basil, it's as good as a quick, satisfying meal as it is a pretty and flavorful side dish. No changes or additions are necessary, though unlike hubby I like freshly grated Parmesan on mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
You have to love an easy 5-ingredient recipe that's tasty. Like the idea of adding other ingredients to change it up, so thanks to the other reviewers for those tips, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Will make again. I did what other reviewers did and sauteed the garlic with the olive oil, added a bit of hot pepper flakes and some slivered onions...I used 3 'tomatoes off the vine' and a bit more olive oil. I tossed this with some fresh paremesan and topped with fresh basil before serving. Next time I will add more hot pepper for heat, but since this was a dish for company, I didn't want them to think it was 'too hot'. EASY...I had all the staples on hand. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryjane27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States