Easy Olive Oil, Tomato, and Basil Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
My family absolutely loved this dish!!! My 2 year old son is gluten intolerant and I made this dish with gluten-free Tinkyada pasta for our whole family. For once, I didn't have to cook 2 separate dinners which was ABSOLUTELY wonderful. The pasta was very tasty. I actually prepared Gingered Chicken Breast (also on the AllRecipes site) and cut that up and added it and grilled veggies to the pasta to make a complete meal. It was so good. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I love the simplicity of this dish, plus it was really good. My mother-in-law, who doesn't like to try new foods, really liked this in spite of the fact that it wasn't cooked (which is one reason I like it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
It's always nice to be reminded that sometimes the best recipes are the simple ones. Such a great stand by, and so easy to adapt (add cheese, different style pasta, etc.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cullman, Alabama, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I've been making this one for quite awhile with two ingredient additions--mozzarella & a dash of cayenne pepper. I keep the rest of the ingredients the same, but I do change the method! In a large bowl, I mix the olive oil with the minced garlic, salt, and a dash of cayenne pepper, and mash them altogether to infuse the OO with flavor. I soak the roma tomatoes (2-3x more than recipe calls for) in the OO mixture since the tomatoes hold more flavor than any other ingredient. I then add cubed mozzarella and the cooked bowtie pasta, mix it altogether, THEN scoop out 1-2cups at a time and saute it in a skillet over high heat until the mozzarella is bubbly and going brown, adding the basil at the end so it doesn't get brittle and overcooked. And I plate it. DELISH! Helped me woo my husband when we were dating; he still remembers this simple dish as one of his faves that I make. ;-) Thanks, CookinGirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Excellent. I happen to have (fresh from the farm) Roma tomatoes and basil so I had to make this. Of course I added extra tomatoes, basil and garlic and used less olive oil...also added parm cheese...what a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Absolutely delicious! Very simple to make as well. I doubled the tomatoes and sauteed them a bit. Also great with scallps tossed in. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nammoora

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Excellent recipe!!! I simmered the olive oil, garlic, fresh basil, tomatoes and added zucchini. I also cooked some hot Italian turkey sausages, sliced and added them to the sauce. This was delicious. I used 4 romas but will probably use even more next time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
I enjoy making this pasta dish often. I added more tomatoes, some crumbled (plain) feta cheese and toasted pine nuts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This is truly an easy dish but I add to add more tomatoes and also added chiles since I love spicy and it turned out great. But next time I would also add olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Siam255

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
This recipe was pretty good and perfect for a quick last-minute meal. I think it would have been better with more tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States