Easy Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I honestly don't know why I keep coming back to this website, the majority of the recipes I have tried from here rarely turn out for me. This muffin recipe is the last straw, never again will I try anything from this website....these muffins were horrible! I would give zero stars if I could
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
great basic muffin recipe! as others mentioned, i doubled the sugar, using 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of white. instead of milk, i used "buttermilk" (1 tbsp of lemon juice mixed with 2%milk, and allowed to sit for at least 5 minutes). i added about a 1/3 cup raisins and 1/3 cup chopped walnuts. still not super sweet, but very tasty out of the oven w/o butter or jam. my 3 year old loved it! will definitely be making this again, and will probably add more raisins or try other dried fruit like apricots or craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
added extra (1/3 cup) brown sugar as suggested by review
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
These are pretty good, kind of bland. Very easy to make though. If I make them again I think I would add some cinnamon for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Easy but boy oh boy. My first batch was bland and chewy. I definately have to tweak things a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Not a bad base -- not too sweet, but a bit dry and bland. I added 1/3 c raisins, 1/3 c walnuts, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg. 425 for 17 minutes, and it might have been best to go a minute or so less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I thought this was a great, basic recipe that can be manipulated endlessly. I personally added flax and chocolate chips for Saturday morning treats- delicious! The texture was nice and tender, and they looked great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I made this recipe for a last minute breakfast. I hadn't been grocery shopping so it was perfect because they were all staple ingredients that I had on hand. I added a handful of chocolate chips to make them a little more "kid friendly". If it weren't for the chocolate chips...they wouldn't have gotten eaten. And only 3 out of the 6 kids would eat them. I tried one and didn't care for them at all. Had a bit of an aftertaste too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I baked these using olive oil and added 1/8 tsp of cinnamon and vanilla. They tasted like a basic muffin, not too sweet. Perfect if you plan on eating with jam or butter. I will keep looking for that perfect eat plain oatmeal muffin, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This is a good base recipe, but as posted it is a little bland and dry. I substituted 1/2 c brown sugar for white. I also added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and (just to make it more moist) 1/2 c applesauce. 12 muffins just took 20 min at 425 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States