Easy Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I have been looking for a basic oatmeal muffin recipe for a while and have finally found it! These muffins aren't sweet, which is exactly what I was looking for. I modified this recipe slightly- using unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil and honey in place of the sugar. They turned out great! I also threw in some spices - cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg, and a diced pear. You could put anything in - fruit, nuts, etc to suit it to your tastes. Every weekend I make a batch of muffins for the freezer, to eat for breakfasts on the run all week - I'll be using this recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Theses are moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Excellent and very easy! I added a little cinammon and they were very light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
wonderfully easy! i have four kids, one very picky eater and i can use this recipe to hide all kids of healthy things. apples are a favorite! i just throw on in the food processor (cored) and add it to the oatmeal mixture before adding the flour. great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
These muffins turned out pretty good, very moist and fluffy. They are fairly bland in taste though, so making additions that will sweeten them up some helps. I added blueberries to mine and they were really good. I also substituted applesauce for oil and used skim milk. I only baked them for 15 minutes. Any longer and they would have been WAY over done. Also, make sure you spray the cupcake papers with some non stick spray, otherwise the muffins stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Campbell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
My son loves muffins but refused to eat a healthy breakfast so I am always trying to find healthy alternatives to some of the ingredients. I tripled the recipe and substituted 1 cup of flour for soy flour and replaced the oil with unsweetened applesauce and left the remaining ingredients the same. They are definitely not the "muffin" you would get at Tim Hortons, I find them very bland and a bit on the chewy side. My son won't eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha Mailloux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I like this recipe, I made a few adj, using splenda instead of sugar, adding 1 cup of dark chocolate chips and a teaspoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
this is fairly bland as is but delicious with some cinnamon, vanilla and raisins (or other dried fruit)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Great base for muffins but on they're own a little bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraAnderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Galway, County Galway, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Made with applesauce. Tasted bland and overdone but gave it 4 stars since I didn't follow the recipe. I added some raisins and walnuts which added enough sweetness and texture but will need to add some fat in the future. Maybe 2 tablespoon of butter and applesauce. Maybe I should also add 1 banana for more flavor. It's a good starting base but I will look for another recipe. I also want to use whole wheat flour and/or oat bran to make it even healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States