Easy Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I did this faithfully, and the cookies came out "cake like". They were too moist, though the taste was good. The cookies also stuck to the baking sheet and came out funny on the bottom. Sorry; I just didn't work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe. I followed teh exact recipe and was very happy with teh results. Then I made it with 1/2 cranberries, 1/2 dark chocolate chips in place of the raisins and they were a huge hit. Inspired by another reviewer's comment of a breakfats cookie- I used applesauce in place of the oil, 1/2 whole wheat flour, an extra half cup of fruit (cranberries and raisins), and baked them about twice as large for about 14 minutes. I was really happy with the results of these. This is a fantastic base recipe and also easily tweaked for a dessert or morning treat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Wow, I was surprised at how much I like these! Soft on the inside, crispy on the outside. The spices add a really good flavor. Admittedly, I soaked my raisins in rum, not water...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Was too dry for my taste buds. The kids dunked them in milk and liked them. Will not make again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Yes, they are easy...no, they are not cookies. I too followed the recipe to a T and they are more like spongy cake. Pretty disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Well the consistency is a little less than cookie-like...but the taste is great. I didn't add the raisins but instead did chocolate chips and coconut flakes along with a little extra brown sugar. I did have to add a bit of water to the mix because it seemed so dry but by a bit I mean a tablespoon maybe. I think I'll try some other recipes...but will probably make these again anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
These were soft but not chewy... still edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Veery easy as it says. Great taste! Made with my 4 year old friend, and he loves them as do my own children. Don't care to much for raisins so we changed it up a bit, some raisins, cranberries and cut up apricots, plus 1 cup chocolate chips. (My husband would say more chocolate)Reminds me of a hermit cookie very soft and love the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This is the first recipe that I made that did not turn out so good. I know a little bit about baking. I followed the recipe except for the raisins and water. I accomadated for the water but, these cookies were not to good. I had to make a glaze to moisten them. Msybe I cooked them too long. I had two pans in the oven at the same time so I cooked them until they turned brown at the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I consider myself to be a great cook but at the most a mediocre baker. That's why I am SO HAPPY with this recipe! The cookies were scrumptious! These are the changes I made based on previous reviews and other research on cookie making: 1) Substituted 1/2 cup craisins and 1/2 cup chocolate chips for raisins. 2) Used 1/2 teasp fresh-grated nutmeg and 1 1/2 teasp cinnamon instead of 1+1. 3) Used 1/2 cup oat flour + 1/2 cup whole wheat flour + 1 cup high gluten flour (to promote chewiness) instead of two cups of regular flour. 10 minutes was the perfect baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States