Easy North Carolina Barbeque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
We have served this at several cookouts. It is wonderful! Most of my guest have asked for the recipe, and have also had rave reviews from their guest. I am from NC, and it is the best BBQ that I have eaten. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This recipe was great. I made a couple changes based on the reviews. I used rice vinegar and brown sugar instead of white. I only had a 2 pound pork butt so I cut the salt, sugar, pepper, red pepper and hot sauce in half. I also only used 2 tablespoons of butter and 1/2 cup of rice vinegar. With these modifications I found it to be very flavorful without being too vinegary. The basic recipe is delicious and I would recommend this as an easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
My husband loves nc barbeque so i tried this recipe and he loved it! I used half the vinegar though and a little less red pepper but it turned out perfect. My husband brags about it to everyone and this has become a family favorite for sure. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I absoultely, positivelly loved this. I am a giant fan of North Carolina BBQ. The tang of the vinegar along with the sweet and spice kick is like no other taste combo. It's just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Wow! I followed the recipe - although I had a boneless pork loin - and I can't believe how perfect it is! I thought it might be too hot with the hot sauce and red pepper flakes - but it turned out just right and is getting better by the day! I will definitely be making this on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I agree with one post that this is not the best but darn good! It's a basic starter recipe. Carolina BBQ has always been a vinegar based sauce so NOT sure why some are saying too much vinegar!? MY RECOMMENDATIONS: Make per recipe add more sugar to tame the vinegar. Also you don't have to pour the entire amount over the pork, use small amounts til your find you liking. I added 1/4 cup brown sugar in addition to white. Also added more red peppers and hot sauce....we like it hot too! Also a little cayenne pepper & hickory smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLC_Hall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gail Cobile
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
We loved it and it really took me back "home"! I didn't add the butter, didn't think it needed the extra fat, and eliminated the lemon juice. All the other ingredients were combined and poured over the roast and the slow cooker did the rest. We had the typical cole slaw, baked beans and hush puppy sides and it was outstanding! This is the typical Eastern North Carolina style barbeque and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Let me preface this by saying that I really like vinegar. I really REALLY like vinegar. I eat vinegar in some form every day. This recipe? Too much vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
my roast was 4.4 llbs. I used 1/4 cup vinegar, 3 TBS sugar, and little more each of lemon juice, hot sauce and pepper flakes (we like our stuff hot) and cooked on low for 9 hours before adding the sauce. The meat fell apart and was to die for! I brought to work to have my coworkers sample I could not believe how yummy with such a small amount of ingredients. Thanks alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crete, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Far too much vinegar, didnt taste like proper NC BBQ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States