Easy Never Forgotten Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by WeirdAuntMartha
Reviewed: May 26, 2003
Very easy and good. Quite a few friends and relatives who have never tried guacamole before said that they really liked this recipe. The nice thing about this recipe is you can really fudge on the amounts of any of the ingredients. If you dont have enough of something, dont worry about it. My only tip (that I learned the hard way) is to select ripe to over-ripe avocados. If you get a bright green (fresh) avocado, it is not soft enough to blend. Save those for your salads and other recipes that call for sliced avocados. You can squeeze the avocados in the grocery store, the softer, the better. They're usually a little black on the outside too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
Finally - somebody's gotten it right! If you've ever been to a real Mexican restaurant in Texas - this is the way you get your guacamole. It's always so frustrating ordering guacamole for my fajitas here in New England. I end up getting half crushed avocados with lemon, onions and tomatoes. Guacamole isn't guacamole unless it's made with cream cheese. This would complement any taco, chalupa or carne asada fajita!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
If I could give this more than five stars I would. I have made this time and time again and there is never a speck of it left AND always double it...at least. I have added a few things. I add about a 1/2 cup chopped red onion, the zest and juice of 1 lime, 8-10 cloves of garlic-chopped and about a half of a bunch of cilantro..chopped. I think the lime juice helps in slowing down the avacodos from turning brown in addition to adding great flavor. Even people who turn there nose up to guacamole love this! Thanks Juli for sharing a wonderfull recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Yum Yum Yum!! I made this last night for a party and it was a hit! I do have to admit I used this recipe as a base and added things to it. I added fresh diced onions, fresh chopped tomatoes, diced green chilis, splash of lemon juice, and a dash of cayenne pepper. PLUS if you keep a couple of the seeds/pits them just throw them in with the guacamole and it helps (in conjunction with the lemon juice) keep the guacamole from turning that nasty brown color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
This is the best guacamole I've ever made and I probably won't use any other recipe again. I mash my avocados and use fresh garlic and onions instead of powder. I add 3 tablespoons of pico de gallo because I like tomato chunks in it and also a tablespoon of lime juice so it doesn't turn brown too quickly. Everybody asks me for this recipe. My one complaint is it only stays fresh for a day before turning nasty-looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
I make a similar recipe, adding lemon juice, cilantro and rotel tomatoes, including everything else mentioned and blended in the food processor. It is WONDERFUL. This is very similar to the green dips found in Mexican food resturaunts in Texas. I eat it until theres not a drop left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Made this for my husband's football draft party and it was gone in 5 minutes! The only additions were about 1/4 cup chopped onion and one more avacado roughly chopped at the end to cut down on the cream cheese taste (only because husband doesn't like cream cheese). It was the best guac I have ever made! Thanks for an awesome recipe! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
This is by far the BEST guacamole I've ever had! And being from California, I like to think I know my guacamole! I brought this to a function and it went amazingly fast. Even people who didn't think they liked guacamole couldn't stop eating it. I did add some lemon juice, minced garlic and tabasco for a little kick. Unbelievably good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
YEAH BABY... this is guacamole just like my Mom and I have always made! And we thought we were the only ones who added cream cheese! This recipe here is dead on, but needs grated onion added to it - just grate some onion right over the bowl - maybe about 1 Tablespoon, depending on taste. Don't go overboard though, because the flavors will get stronger as it sits. I could eat my weight in this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
This was a little bland for me and my family even with the crushed red pepper. I liked the idea of adding the sour cream and cream cheese, but I ended up adding lime juice, cilantro, garlic, and extra salsa and crushed red pepper to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Guacamole

See how to make classic, quick-and-easy guacamole.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States