Easy Mushroom Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I changed this recipe a lot. First of all I used 1 cup of rice, 2 cups of Beef Broth(sodium free), one package of French onion soup mix, and an 8 ounce can of mushrooms. I just threw it all into the rice cooker, turned it on a normal cycle, and ta-da DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Great Recipe...Great taste. Next time I will strain some of the onions out of the soup, and add some parsley at the end. So you know, it came out of the oven slightly liquidy, but thickened up nicely. Used Uncle Ben's and it was perfectly cooked after 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Fantastic recipe! Condensed French onion soup is not available locally, so followed other suggestions and used 2 cans creme of chicken soup the first time (double recipe for dinner function), and the second time (also doubled for a bbq dinner), used 1 can of creme of chicken plus 1 can creme of mushroom soup. First time used fresh mushrooms sauteed in a bit of oil, and found the recipe slightly oily (should have reduced the butter I guess). Second time used 1 can of mushrooms iso fresh mushrooms, and it was excellent. My chef daughter-in-law wanted the recipe straight away! Think I will stick to the tinned mushrooms - quick and easy and I could in all honesty not really taste the difference between the two lots of mushrooms after it came out of the oven. Also so easy to add extra spices if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
A+++++ SO good. Added extra mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainview, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made the rest of my dinner to be ready when this was and I was highly disappointed because this was NOT ready after 1 hour in the oven. I ended up leaving it in for 1 hour 20 minutes. It tasted ok, the french onion soup was a really strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I thought this was o.k. but my hubby loved it. Timing was perfect in the oven also..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Rehders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lampasas, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made this for Christmas dinner with the family, it was a hit with everyone. The things I changed was I used chicken broth instead of beef broth, I added boneless chicken breast and rosemary to season the rice. Next time I will marinate the chicken a little more with seasonings, perhaps cajun. Overall, I would make this again and it was very easy to make for beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eternal.happiness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very good recipe. It can't get any easier!! I doubled the recipe and ended up with way to much, I would say the orig recipe serves 6 for sure. Everyone enjoyed. Used white mushrooms because that is what I had, but I imagine this would even more delicious with a more flavorful shroom:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PICKLES00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was very good! I made as instructed, although next time I think I will try cream of mushroom soup and fresh mushrooms. I would also probably add some fresh onion and maybe garlic. The recipe says it makes 4 servings but we have a lot more than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was delicious! Thank you for sharing. I used a can of cream of mushroom soup (undiluted) in place of the onion soup as one reviewer suggested. I also used chicken broth in place of beef broth. I doubled the amount of mushrooms and also added a can of chopped spinach. I left out the butter. The spinach and mushroom together have a wonderful earthy flavor and using the cream of mushroom soup gave the rice a nice creamy texture. The boyfriend and roommate both liked it very much. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mgarciax18

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States