Easy Mushroom Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
A+++++ SO good. Added extra mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainview, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made the rest of my dinner to be ready when this was and I was highly disappointed because this was NOT ready after 1 hour in the oven. I ended up leaving it in for 1 hour 20 minutes. It tasted ok, the french onion soup was a really strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I thought this was o.k. but my hubby loved it. Timing was perfect in the oven also..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Rehders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lampasas, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made this for Christmas dinner with the family, it was a hit with everyone. The things I changed was I used chicken broth instead of beef broth, I added boneless chicken breast and rosemary to season the rice. Next time I will marinate the chicken a little more with seasonings, perhaps cajun. Overall, I would make this again and it was very easy to make for beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eternal.happiness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very good recipe. It can't get any easier!! I doubled the recipe and ended up with way to much, I would say the orig recipe serves 6 for sure. Everyone enjoyed. Used white mushrooms because that is what I had, but I imagine this would even more delicious with a more flavorful shroom:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PICKLES00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was very good! I made as instructed, although next time I think I will try cream of mushroom soup and fresh mushrooms. I would also probably add some fresh onion and maybe garlic. The recipe says it makes 4 servings but we have a lot more than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was delicious! Thank you for sharing. I used a can of cream of mushroom soup (undiluted) in place of the onion soup as one reviewer suggested. I also used chicken broth in place of beef broth. I doubled the amount of mushrooms and also added a can of chopped spinach. I left out the butter. The spinach and mushroom together have a wonderful earthy flavor and using the cream of mushroom soup gave the rice a nice creamy texture. The boyfriend and roommate both liked it very much. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mgarciax18

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I did not like this at all! I am very surprised with the ratings, but it was so "SUPER SALTY." In addition, I baked it for one hour and it looked like rice soup. There is another similar recipe on here that says to bake at 425. So, I uncovered it and stuck it back in the oven at that temperature for another 25 minutes. When it was done the color was almost gray brown and looked unappetizing. The dish also tasted a lot like "boxed rice-a-roni," which I really did not expect, especially for a 1 1/2 hour dish! I was leary of making this with the 3 canned ingredients, but the reviews were still pretty good. But, the rice never asborbed the salty taste of the 3 canned items. I dislike rating recipes this low. But, the after taste of this was like opening a salt packet and eating it straight. The dish was an unfortunate waste of ingredients as it got tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
OMG...this was Fantabulous!!! I did make changes as well...yet again, I always do! I used fresh mush (cremini) instead of canned, also used onion and garlic. Sauted them in the butter and a lil bit of EVOO and added the rice to the pan B4 adding it all to the cass dish. I also used cr of mush soup instead...the reviews had sueded me to do so...I am glad I did...we LOVED it! I also used chicken stock, pretty much all but the smallest amt in the can. It was more than the recipe called for....but made the rice sooo yummy! We ARE rice ppl and this was outstanding! But, I highly suggest making the mods to the rice, it makes it much more flavorful! I made it with Mushroom Melt stuffed chicken...I made mods to that as well...as always! It was an AMAZING dinner!!! So much so that we all overate bc we couldn't get enough!! **Update-- I made this again with my mods, but this time I tried the healthier approach with brown rice and I used reg button mushrooms instead of cremini. Not the same, or as good. So I will always use white rice and cremini mush. I was still good, but not 5 stars good that route. Oh and I did have to bump up the cooking time, I increased it by an additional 30 mins to compensate for the extra cook time for brn rice. Wasn't overcooked, but be sure to have enough liquid, I used a whole 14 oz can of chick broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Have been making this for many years. I too added extra mushrooms (fresh,sauteed slightly) but also added a can of sliced water chestnuts for a nice crunchy addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States