Easy Morning Glory Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Love this recipe. Grating the carrots is really time consuming but well worth it in the end. I try and sub out as much oil as I can with unsweetened apple sauce, but am never able to sub it out completely... just isn't as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I altered my recipe a bit: 3 cups whole wheat flour 2/3 cup sugar 4 packs stevia (1tsp) 1 tablespoon baking soda ?1 tablespoon ground cinnamon ?3 1/2 cups shredded carrots ?3/4 cup raisins 1 mashed banana 1/2 c ground walnuts 3/4 cup unsweetened flaked coconut ?2 apples - peeled, cored and shredded 5 eggs 1/2 cup oil 1 cup plain yogurt (used 2% mf) 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt and Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe. Substituted 1/2 oil for applesauce as suggested and added 1/2 tsp nutmeg. The recipe made 18 muffins which was fine by me. I plan on sharing this recipe with all my family. So yummy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Made these with some of the substitutions suggested, 1/2 whole wheat flour, 3/4 cup sugar and using half oil and half applesauce. I thought the whole wheat flour changed the flavor and probably won't do that again and maybe next time try using currants and toasted walnuts. Overall they were liked, but I think the second batch will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Garfield

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Very good. I usually cut out the coconut. Also I always get 18 muffins, so that's a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
These muffins were so delicious that my picky 7 year old eater finished it off, and my husband told me that these are the BEST muffins he ever tasted. I've always bought the store-bought packaged muffin mix, and then one day after making scratch chocolate chip cookies, I saw a recipe for glory muffins on the flour bag, but I had torn off part of the packaging and couldn't read all the directions, so I came to all recipes and search for them, and low and behold, I've come across a gold-mine of muffins, better than any store bought out there! I've never written a review in the 2+ years on the site, but this was deserving of 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I didn't like grating the carrots and the apple, chopping the nuts, etc., because it was time consuming. But I did like the end result...the muffins are very moist, and yummy...not sugary sweet, but naturally sweet. I will make these again, only I will allot myself extra time for prepping the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Good news, bad news. I added three slices of pineapple with a little juice, zucchini, and cucumber (cucumber was a mistake, I thought it was zucchini). I didn't measure in these extras so I think maybe I threw off the proportions. Also used 1/2 c applesauce, and maybe too big an apple. Soaked the cranberries (instead of raisins) and coconut in boiling water. Bottom line: with all those wet extra ingredients, I realized my dough was way too watery. Just looked WRONG. So I added flour, added flour, close to 3/4 of a cup. The texture and cooking time were fine with my adjustment. But the muffin lost a lot of flavor I would have expected it to have. I think just so much extra flour. Needed more sweetness and more punch. (more cinnamon? nutmeg?) I'll have to make them again to see if I can get to five stars but I think it wasn't really the recipe's fault; still seemed good. Would also like to try lite sour cream/yogurt to see if I can get more moisture in that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Wonderful! Other than using only 3/4 c. oil, I followed the recipe to a T. I was test driving my new Chicago Metallic jumbo tins so based on other advise, I baked at 325 for 30 mins. and got 6 jumbo muffins and a small corning ware casserole filled. These jumbo muffins will be very delicious, filling breakfasts. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Such wonderful muffins. Great flavor and texture. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 51-60 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States