Easy Morning Glory Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
These were really good! The first time I made them I followed the recipe exactly. They were really good, but I knew I needed to make them healthier. I changed the flour to whole wheat flour, cut sugar down to 1/2 cut (I know!), and used 3/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce and 1/4 cup oil instead of 1 cup oil. I couldn't find unsweetened coconut, so I had to use sweetened. These changes made the nutritional info per muffing (12 servings): calories: 247, Fat: 10.6g, cholesterol: 46.3mg, sodium: 250mg, potassium: 260mg, carbohydrates: 34.5g, fiber: 4.1g, sugars: 16.1g, and protein: 5.5g. Still a muffin, but a bit healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brisbane, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
These are excellent! Here are some changes I made to make them a little more healthy; I used all whole wheat flour. I used 1/2 c. olive oil and 1/2 c. applesauce in place of the 1 cup of oil. I left out the coconut simply because I didn't have any. Very moist and delicious! I freeze these and take one out when I want to eat it or throw one in my lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JINGLES1963

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
.....great recipe! The recipe made 1-1/2 doz large muffins....changed the recipe slightly. Instead of 1 cup oil....I used 1/2 melted butter 1/2 cup Greek Yogurt...also added dried cherries instead of raisins, pepitos (pumpkin seeds), organic sugar and whole wheat organic flour...can't get better than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I added zucchini and skipped the coconut (not a fan), used half whole wheat flour. Next time I'll finely shred everything, add the zest from a couple oranges, pecans and add ginger. I will make them again for a healthy breakfast option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Very good. Next time i make them I would only use 3/4 cup of oil though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeybee375

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I replace the oil with apple sauce and the middle part seems undercooked. Cooked longer & the outside is a little tough. Sounds like a good healthy idea but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
SOOO good! I threw the carrots (maybe 6?) and apple in my food processor to grate--it made this recipe so easy. As others recommended, I used a combo of apple sauce and crushed pineapple to fill a cup most of the way and topped it off with a little bit (maybe 1/8 c.) of canola oil. The muffins were very moist--definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
These were perfect! Nice and moist - I will definitely make again. I followed the advice of substituting half the oil with applesauce. I also replaced 1 cup white flour with 1 cup wheat. I tried to follow the advice of those who suggested using the mini-food processor to chop up the carrots - that did not work for me at all. I will just grate the carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oberlin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
May be the best muffin I've made so far - Definitely in the top 3. Like other reviewers - substituted some applesauce for oil - just took a cup and put what I had and filled up to a cup - somewhere between 2/3-3/4 cup applesauce - and about 3/4 C Sugar used. And added some cloves (maybe a 1/4 tsp?) - and at least 2 heaping tsps of cinnamon - prob a tablespoonish. Also - used a portion scoop to put in the muffin tins, so used a cinnamon/sugar mixture to dip it in between scoops so everything came out nicely. Also added a bit more flavor. So not overly sweet - and absolutely perfect texture. Definitely will continue with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
These muffins are great IF you are looking for a really healthy-tasting muffin (as in, you are NOT looking for something sweet with a streusel topping like you would get at a bakery). Tastes like a little like a bran muffin...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States