Easy Morning Glory Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Loved loved loved these, exactly what I was looking for and they turned out so good!! I followed the recipe, only exception was that I topped the muffins with chopped walnuts because I had some left over. Will be doing it again for sure. Nothing beats home made muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Used whole wheat flour, 1/2 coconut oil & 1/2 applesauce, & shredded everything with my Presto Salad Shooter. The end result: fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This is an awesome recipe. I make a couple of changes to make it healthier (I use half white whole wheat flour and half whole wheat pastry flour in place of the AP flour, I use 3/4 c pumpkin and 1/4 c canola in place of the vegetable oil, and I cut back the sugar to ~3/4 c) but even with the changes, it makes for a delicious muffin. The baking time is definitely off, but I adjust the temperature to 375 and cook for about 25 minutes and that's usually perfect. This is a great fall breakfast item!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Loved the texture of all the fruit and carrots. Husband asked me to sub dried blueberries for raisins and I was surprised that they made the muffins too sweet for me. Will stick to raisins next time. Also subbed pumpkin puree for oil and will definately do that again. Recipe made 16 instead of 12 muffins. They are extra yummy microwaved even without butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I thought these were very yummy but my kids found them to be just "ok" because of the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
These are the BEST! I come back to this recipe every chance I can get!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
These are wonderful! I made them with brown sugar and King Arthur White Whole Wheat flour. I will try the applesauce trick next time, but with the whole wheat flour, it was only slightly oily. I will also try cutting out the walnuts to save on calories and just sprinkling the tops with chopped walnuts and sugar in the raw before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Love this recipe! Don't usually do reviews but had to with this one. First, I will say I get tired of people blasting others about their reviews. Most of the reviews are helpful and I appreciate them. Don't read them if you can't do it without criticism. Now... I made these per the recipe except I recalculated for 6 servings since it's just the two of us. I didn't want individual muffins so I heated about 1 T of oil in an 8 inch iron skillet on med heat, spooned the batter in, cooked for 2-3 mins and put in the preheated oven. Cooked for 20-25 mins, testing with toothpick toward the end. This made a crusty edge which we like...very yummy! Next time we may substitute some of the oil with applesauce, some brown sugar for some of the white, and whole wheat flour for some of the white. But these are great as written. Thanks Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I love this versatile recipe, with my own healthier additions and subs. Also, my son doesn't like pineapple cooked or baked into things, and this particular morning glory muffin recipe doesn't call for it like many others do. I sub in whole wheat flour for 1/2 of the AP flour, 1/2 cup honey and 1/4 stevia baking blend for the sugar (with an extra 1/4 tsp baking soda), pecans for the walnuts, and applesauce or mashed banana for the oil. I also add 1/8 cup each wheat germ and ground flaxseed meal. Unable to find unsweetened coconut in my area, so I use sweetened. I use whatever apples I have on hand. I have also successfully subbed pumpkin puree for the oil and craisins for the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Delicious muffins but a bit time consuming. I doubled the recipe and they turned out great. The only change I made was adding cranberries instead of raisins. Very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States