Easy Morning Glory Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
DANG, so good! First, just FYI: I filled my muffin cups FULL, zero space at the top, and I got a full 18 muffins. Plan accordingly! These have a texture full of crunchies and sweet bits of fruit that I really enjoy, and my tops turned out with a shiny little crust that's a little crisp on the edges. All that in a muffin flavored little like spice cake or gingerbread. LOVE. Like lots of other reviewers, I couldn't handle the idea of a full cup of oil - but I had no applesauce, so I substituted about half of it with plain Greek yogurt plus a little splash of milk (I was worried the yogurt would be too thick, but I probably didn't need it, based on the final batter texture). I only had sweetened coconut, but it doesn't seem overpowering. I also used golden raisins because that's what I had on hand, but I love that flavor so I'm sure I'll continue to make them that way. I will also use more walnuts, and use larger pieces next time. I just spied some leftover dried cranberries in my pantry, and I might even toss those in next time. Love this recipe as-is, and also for the possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Read a few reviews before making this so I used all applesauce, egg whites, and whole wheat flour. Yum! My boys gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
These are fantastic & easy! I used the food processor for the shredding, and ended up subbing dried cranberries & copped pecans because it is what I had on hand. Big hit with the kids and adults. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I haven't compared this Morning Glory recipe to others on the site, but I definitely enjoy these muffins! I used all whole wheat flour, all brown sugar, and added dried dates and cranberries as well as raisins. I also added another apple and substituted applesauce for the oil to make these even healthier. I did about 3 cups of shredded carrots to make these moister and toasted the coconut before adding it to the batter to enhance the flavor. This recipe easily makes 18 large muffins, more than 12 as stated in the recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Very delicious muffins, but as written are fatty muffins disguised as healthy muffins. The oil should be replaced (a portion or all) with apple sauce, pumpkin puree, or mashed bananas to make a healthier muffin. I doubled the recipe and instead of the 2 cups of oil for a doubled recipe, I used 1 cup pumpkin puree, 1/2 cup apple sauce, and 1/2 cup oil. I also used sweetened coconut (since that's what I had) and reduced the sugar to 1 cup (for doubled recipe). They definitely could have been sweeter than I made them, but they still tasted great. They did taste very carrot-y though and I think I would have liked more apples (or maybe pieces instead of shredded). My 4-year-old loves these and I think next time I will try replacing the carrots with zucchini to sneak in a vegetable he wouldn't eat otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Loved these! I substituted apple sauce for half of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I LOVE these muffins!! I have made them twice now trying whole wheat flour and buckwheat flour and raw sugar to make them a bit more healthy. I love knowing that my family is eating something good for them that really tastes great! These muffins will be a regular in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
The vanilla flavor was overpowering. 1 teaspoon would probably be better. Applesauce in place of oil was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
These were a huge hit with my family. I did cut the oil in half and use pumpkin pie filling for the other half and that were great, moist and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States