Easy Morning Glory Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Very delicious muffins, but as written are fatty muffins disguised as healthy muffins. The oil should be replaced (a portion or all) with apple sauce, pumpkin puree, or mashed bananas to make a healthier muffin. I doubled the recipe and instead of the 2 cups of oil for a doubled recipe, I used 1 cup pumpkin puree, 1/2 cup apple sauce, and 1/2 cup oil. I also used sweetened coconut (since that's what I had) and reduced the sugar to 1 cup (for doubled recipe). They definitely could have been sweeter than I made them, but they still tasted great. They did taste very carrot-y though and I think I would have liked more apples (or maybe pieces instead of shredded). My 4-year-old loves these and I think next time I will try replacing the carrots with zucchini to sneak in a vegetable he wouldn't eat otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Loved these! I substituted apple sauce for half of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I LOVE these muffins!! I have made them twice now trying whole wheat flour and buckwheat flour and raw sugar to make them a bit more healthy. I love knowing that my family is eating something good for them that really tastes great! These muffins will be a regular in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
The vanilla flavor was overpowering. 1 teaspoon would probably be better. Applesauce in place of oil was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
These were a huge hit with my family. I did cut the oil in half and use pumpkin pie filling for the other half and that were great, moist and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
a great healthy snack. I made my own applesauce and swapped it for all the oil and they turned out so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARLYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Williams, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
These were so very good! I increased the salt to 1t, used 1/2 c oil and 1/2 c applesauce and kept everything the same. (The cooking time was a bit longer than printed.) This recipe is going in the permanent file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
These were delicious! I omitted the raisins (didn't have any on hand), substituted the white sugar with agave nectar and decreased the oil to 1/2 cup (since agave nectar adds extra liquids) and added flax seeds. This made 18 regular sized muffins. Froze most of them, which makes for easy breakfasts in the morning! Next time I will probably try adding zucchini and sunflower seeds to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
very good and healthy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veronic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States