Easy Morning Glory Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Love this recipe! Don't usually do reviews but had to with this one. First, I will say I get tired of people blasting others about their reviews. Most of the reviews are helpful and I appreciate them. Don't read them if you can't do it without criticism. Now... I made these per the recipe except I recalculated for 6 servings since it's just the two of us. I didn't want individual muffins so I heated about 1 T of oil in an 8 inch iron skillet on med heat, spooned the batter in, cooked for 2-3 mins and put in the preheated oven. Cooked for 20-25 mins, testing with toothpick toward the end. This made a crusty edge which we like...very yummy! Next time we may substitute some of the oil with applesauce, some brown sugar for some of the white, and whole wheat flour for some of the white. But these are great as written. Thanks Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I love this versatile recipe, with my own healthier additions and subs. Also, my son doesn't like pineapple cooked or baked into things, and this particular morning glory muffin recipe doesn't call for it like many others do. I sub in whole wheat flour for 1/2 of the AP flour, 1/2 cup honey and 1/4 stevia baking blend for the sugar (with an extra 1/4 tsp baking soda), pecans for the walnuts, and applesauce or mashed banana for the oil. I also add 1/8 cup each wheat germ and ground flaxseed meal. Unable to find unsweetened coconut in my area, so I use sweetened. I use whatever apples I have on hand. I have also successfully subbed pumpkin puree for the oil and craisins for the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Delicious muffins but a bit time consuming. I doubled the recipe and they turned out great. The only change I made was adding cranberries instead of raisins. Very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Fantastic! I, too, cut out the oil and replaced it with applesauce. My husband and daughter couldn't get enough of them. He stated the muffins were the best he's ever had. I'm going to attempt another batch with wholewheat flour next. Wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Kids loved them, super tasty. Used 1/4c oil, 3/4c applesauce. Made 2 dozen medium sized muffins and a dozen minis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colby D. Lindeman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I used toasted sunflower seeds instead of walnuts as I did not have any but the muffins were great! A bit too much oil but still fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Great recipe. VERY moist and flavorful. I thought a cup of oil sounded like a lot so I cut it to 3/4 of a cup and could probably have put in even less. FYI, recipe yielded only 12 muffins (tins filled to the top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEWSHANE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Extremely delicious, filling and delightful! They are moist, delicate and hearty at the same time. I made them in the large muffing tins and then froze them individually. Pop one in the micro for 45 seconds as you pour your coffee in the morning and you've got yourself a delish breakfast on the go that's good for you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Really tasty! And very filling.... I might make them as mini muffins next time. The prep work wasn't too bad, just had to shred the carrots and peel and shred the apple. Makes a great breakfast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Hetrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Very moist! Left out nuts for the kids. Replaced a 1/4 tsp of the vanilla with almond extract. Added depth. Flaked coconut created a great texture. Plumped the raisins with hot water before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 644) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States