Easy Money Breakfast Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This is a great basic recipe for a quick breakfast. I made it once and it was delicious, but I made some changes the second time. I used chorizo instead of regular pork sausage as I wanted some more spice. I also browned a bag of frozen Potatoes O'Brien threw them into the mix. I added diced green onions to the eggs and doubled the green chiles. Since I was serving this to a young men's soccer team (think 20 hungry 18 year olds) I ended up doubling everything and then threw it into a crock pot on the warm setting. When they were ready to eat, I just loaded up the burritos with filling, salsa, and cheese (did not use processed cheese, but a Mexican blend and Queso Fresco). I ended up with a little left over filling, so just made extra burritos, wrapped them in waxed paper and froze them. They are great to take out of the freezer in the morning, use the defrost setting on the microwave and then finish heating on a regular setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
These were amazing just the way the recipe was written. My 14 year old son said that was the best breakfast he had in a long time and my husband said a few more good words than that. We will be eating these frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I left out the velveeta (that stuff is expensive to me) and used smokey links in place of the pork sausage. Turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Great for breakfast "on the go"! I cut way back on the serving size because I didn't need that many. I used microwave sausage links that I cut in half lengthwise and then scrambled my eggs and usual adding the green chiles. I didn't have Velveeta on hand so I subbed a Mexican blend and used a fresh salsa. Just about anything you put in a warm tortilla is gonna taste great and this was delicious with a side of light sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Yum Yum!!! I made them today and fresh they tasted awesome. I have about half a dozen in the freezer that I plan on taking for breakfast in the coming week. I hope they taste just as yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I made a half recipe of this. I added fresh minced garlic in with the onion and I used sharp cheddar cheese instead of Velveeta, only because I don't keep processed cheese on hand. I also used my own homemade salsa. Quick and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
so tasty. i did use queso cheese dip instead of cheese whiz worked great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fordham, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Great recipe! I use roasted green chiles from New Mexico and they add so much flavor! Sometimes I use chorizo instead of plain sausage. We keep chipotle salsa in the frig at all times and this really makes them tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
We browned pork sausage, onion, garlic and red pepper, drained grease. Added velveeta until melted. Mixed in beaten eggs and green chilies until set. Spoon onto flour tortillas, top with salsa and ENJOY! Did not use any butter. This recipe is very versatile with the ingredients you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
These are absolutely delicious! I made a few small changes such as using sausage AND crumbled bacon and added sauteed mushrooms. Used shredded sharp cheddar instead of the velveeta. Loved the green chilis, they add just the right taste. The only other thing I did differently was I did not include the salsa inside the burrito but added it as we were eating them. Next time I might used pepper jack cheese or add just a few jalapenos for a little kick. Also might use a hotter salsa, I just used mild this time for those in my household that dont like very spicy foods.These get 2 thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Spiced chorizo and scrambled eggs make the best breakfast tacos.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States