Easy Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
My child loved this and I thought it was great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Timmons Brooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockwell, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dayton, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Best homemade ice cream we have ever made ! Kids loved it and everyone commented how good it was! Easy to make too! Didn't change anything on recipe. Will definitely be making it again! Might also try the recipe with chopped Oreos for cookies and creme!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Made it exactly as stated & it was terrible. I've tried at least 50 ice cream recipes from about 7 ice cream cookbooks & while some were better than others they were all tasty enough that they were gone in a day or two. nobody wanted to eat it. I just moved so I didn't want to dig out my cookbooks & came here for a recipe - almost 400 reviews & 5 stars, this had to be a winner! I'm sorry I didn’t read the reviews, I now see most of the people who loved this had made crucial changes. There are only a few ice cream base recipes - it’s actually the added ingredients for flavor that make the difference. The peppermint is too strong (used McCormick’s), rather than a smooth mint taste it’s more like eating frozen toothpaste. I thought the salt would be fine because I’ve used it in ice creams before, but this tasted salty, which is fine for a recipe like salted caramel, but in a mint ice cream it’s just awful. And those mini chocolate chips (used Nestle’s), they were a bit hard & weird tasting right after making the recipe, then after freezing they became really hard, like eating gross little pebbles. So rather than mint chocolate chip ice cream this was more like salty toothpaste with pebbles ice cream. Sorry, 1 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
If I hadn't changed the main components of the ice cream, I'd rate it a 5! But...I used half & half instead of cream which gave it more of a frozen yogurt texture. I absolutely LOVED this recipe, but I will admit it's hard to go wrong with mint chocolate chip. As others recommended, I doubled the peppermint extract...but no food coloring for my family. I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This was the first recipe we used in our new ice cream maker. I was very pleased to see how this turned out. We have it in the freezer now so it will thicken , however it was very tasty before we finally shut the door .lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fuzzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nokesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Next time we'll make it with less sugar (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Wonderful the way it is, but I also used it as a base recipe for thin mint cookie ice cream. I substituted 4TBPS creme de mente for the peppermint extract and one cup of crushed thin mints for the chocolate chips. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This was such a good mint icecream recipe. I used mini chocolate chips which got kind of hard when frozen, I would probably chop the chocolate into small pieces next time, but I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
We did this in our Cuisinart ice cream maker, but tweaked it just a bit. Instead of the chocolate chips, we coarsely chopped Thin Mints (girl scout cookies). Only chop about 4 times across the cookie, then once the other direction. You want fairly large chunks. Don't worry about the crumbs. Pour them right in with the chunks. You can easily reduce sugar to 3/4 cup, and may want to reduce the vanilla to 1/2 tsp. Overall, this is my favorite ice cream recipe so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
The texture and flavor was excellent, however I'm giving it 4 stars because it wasn't nearly minty enough. I had used SANDRA_FRANCKS suggestion to use min instead of peppermint extract. Next time, I'll do the same, but double the amount of extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States