Easy Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I'm going to this this 4 stars. It was really yummy. But, very rich. too rich. But we all enjoyed it, and I am sure we will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I live in Japan and I love mint chocolate chip ice cream. We went shopping and found tiny 20 gram bags of rock salt for about $2 each -- the caviar of salt I guess -- so that was out. It was table salt or nothing. We bought 'milk'. It was white. We found something called 'fresh creme' and figured we were in the ballpark. Vanilla, no problem. Chocolate chips, no problem Mint, problem. It was mint tea, or creme de menthe and alcohol won. Say back to the kitchen. We bought to big bags of ice which ended up giving us half of what we needed. They say too many cooks spoils something, I think. Especially when one puts the salt in, and then checks the email, and then one's wife puts the salt in -- to help out. Half way through, and time to throw the chips in we have a taste test. The kids were waiting anxiously. I think I made the same face I make when I down a shot of tequila and lick the salt. Their beaming faces turned dark -- what did you do to the ice-cream, Daddy? I told them we were making 'adult' ice-cream and not to get their hopes up. I finished off the creme de menthe and opened a beer and watched the ice-cream maker spin for the last ten minutes. I put on some blues. So we are done. Everybody had a spoon and dug into the canister. Tequila shots faces all around. But my ten-year-old digs her spoon in again and tells us it's OK. We all go at it and after each bite it just got better. Will try it again with half the salt. I know it will be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Tasted a bit "off" from what I was expecting. I did, however, put in slightly more vanilla and a little spillover of mint. Either way, even being a little different, the longer it sat in the freezer and the more of it I ate, the better it tasted. This was true to the point of craving this ice cream and wanting to make more as soon as it was gone. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Yummy! Best mint chocolate ice cream recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I use Creme de Menthe in place of peppermint. It has a nice delicare lingering mint flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Great recipe but I did make some changes based on my preferences. I have a six quart White Mountain so I always make a larger batch. For this recipe I used 2 qts heavy whipping cream, 2 qts Half & Half. Used one cup sugar for each quart of liquid. Used 1.5 egg yolks per qt of fluid. Heated the cream and H&H in a large pan. Placed the six yolks into a bowl and whipped 'em. When cream was about 160 I took a cup of it and slowly poured it into the whipped yolks while whipping them some more. This is called "Tempering". If you don't do this and pour the yolks into the hot mix you get an "Egg Flower Soup" effect. Pour eggs into cream and add sugar and salt (1/2 tsp per qt) while whisking. Heat until it coats spoon. Remove from heat and cool pan in sink of cool water. Pour mix into churn. Add 3 TBL MINT extract and green dye as needed. Taste mix and add more Mint if needed. Chill one hour in fridge before churn. I used Lindt or Geribaldi 72% cocoa bars. I put the in the freezer, makes them easier to chop. I think the bars are 3.5 oz each. They are about 8x3 inches. I add the chocolate about half way through the churning process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
AWESOME! this is a great recipe for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I really hate to give this fewer than five stars (it was very tasty and the recipe worked flawlessly), but ... it was kinda salty. I appreciated what the salt brought to the table (literally!), but if I make this again, I will reduce the salt ... perhaps by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was pretty good, had the perfect amount of peppermint but I would definatly put in less sugar next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Super easy and tastes great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berry sweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 91-100 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States