Easy Microwave Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I did not like this cake at all! The consistancy was great (very cake like) but the huge serving and was not sweet enough for my tastes.It was made edible by having ice cream with it, but I definately won't try it again. EDIT* I know I said I would never try this again but I was desperate for easy chocolate cake so I read the other reviews and decided to alter it a little and see what I came up with. I simply added 1/2 cup of sugar and 1T of cocoa. The result was a wonderful chocolatey cake with a great consistancy. Given the improvments I would change my rating from 2 stars to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
351 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkes, New South Wales, Australia
Living In: Warrens, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Very surprising! Excellent and moist! i followed the sugestions, and it made it MUCH better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I don't know why the tough reviews. I guess it was just because of the lack of sweetness to it. However, once you add extra sugar,(abt 1/2 cup extra or so) It becomes perfect! I was watching a movie last night, and really was craving chocolate cake, so I got up and made this one for the first time, and during the commercial break none the less!! Prepared the batter during the first commercial break, and put in the bowl and microwaved it during the second! How fast is that! And let me tell you, it is really good. I added chocolate chips to the batter to make it even more chocolatey, and later made a quick nutella & milk frosting to cover the rest of the cake. One thing I would advise is not to refrigerate it, it becomes hard when you do. It really is a good cake, and would make again. Love the idea of making it without the fuss of preheating the oven, and using lots of dishes and pans. So fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Awesome cake!I've never made microwave cake before so I was surprised that it came out exactly like a baked cake! It tastes best straight out of the microwave. If you leave it for too long it goes hard. I added 1/2 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was disgustingly easy! It was amazing, and so fast! I had no idea that anything like this was even possible. I used some of the suggestions posted by other people and used 3/4 sugar (altogether) and 3 tbsp of cocoa. It was really good, especially if your just craving chocolate carbs! Next time I think chocolate chips would take it out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I'm rating this a 5 because it met all my expectations. I didn't expect it to taste as good as my cakes baked in the oven. I did add a little bit more sugar and less cocoa as advised. Next time I'll not lessen the cocoa. Thinking I might try leaving the cocoa out sometime and adding lemon juice (reducing the milk a little). It's just great when you need an emergency dessert, Serve with some strawberries or peaches, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
THIS WAS THE BEST MICROWAVE CAKE I HAVE EVER MADE AND TASTED. I LOVE THIS AND YOUR ARE FABULOUS SHARING THIS WIT THE WORLD AND ME!!!! LOTS OF THANKS TO YOU AND WHO EVER MADE THIS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This dessert was fantastic! It was quick and easy, and had amazing texture. We added the 3/4 cup sugar as recommended by another reviewer and is was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
AMAZING! late night snack when pregnant and lazy! LOL i cooked it for 2 1/2 min and did not wait 5 minutes to take it out of the bowl, i guess it was not totally "baked" but it had like a glaze on top... REALLY good and also used 1/2 c. of sugar Would make again and OFTEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States