Easy Microwave Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I added the extra sugar and cocoa as other reviewers have recommended. It's not the best chocolate cake I have ever made, but for a quick two-serving treat, it's pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Delicious! I took the reviewer's advice and tripled the sugar and added an extra tbsp of cocoa. It's not "I will never cook in the oven again" good, but it's definitely the best 5-minute cake recipe I've ever had. I baked mine in a ceramic quiche dish. Word from the wise: let this cool twice as long as it says- at LEAST 10 minutes, if not 20. I tried to turn mine out after 5 and the centre didn't come out. Next time I'll let it cool longer and ice it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
My kids are home on yet ANOTHER snow day so we gave this a try. They mixed this up using an extra half cup of sugar and chocolate chips. We divided the batter in half between two coffee cups and microwaved them 3 minutes (little microwave). It was so yummy that I went ahead and mixed one up for myself! Surprisingly good for how fast it and easy it was. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
For a microwave cake it isn't too bad. It was really dense. Maybe because I didn't have any baking powder. Anyhow, it was very chocolately and fast. Great if you're in a hurry. I also added a bit more sugar and cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Needed a quick fix... this worked great. Added choc chips and sprayed the dish that I used well with Pam. I made a chocolate ganache to drizzle over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I am pretty sure that this was my microwave's fault (good old student housing), but mine turned out like soup with a layer of cake on top after 2 and 1/2 minutes. Do I wish I'd cooked it longer? HECK NO! It was the most delicious, gooey thing I have had in a long time. My chocolate craving was more than satisfied, and my roommates had to finish it off for me. I took others' suggestions and added the extra sugar and cocoa powder, and it was heaven. Ten stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I made this cake yesterday since we just moved and don't have a stove yet I have no other way to cook than a mircowave. It was great! Much better than I expected. It's dense like a brownie and tasted delicious with chocolate frosting. I used Betty Crocker rich and creamy chocolate. I prefer dense cakes to light airy ones anyway. I did take the suggestions listed and increase sugar. I used 3/4 cup and doubled the recipe for the entire cake, which fit nicely into a square 8x8in pan. My microwave is a little slow so I cooked it for 6 minutes..perfect! This was so easy for someone who doesn't bake often like myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sahaaya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Being a college student means having no time so this recipe is perfect! It's quick and easy and tastes good. I would have given it 5 stars except I had to tweek it a bit. I added 1/2 cup sugar as many people recommended which still wasn't quite sweet enough so the next time I made it, i threw in a hand full of chocolate chips and it made all the difference. If you make the whole recipe though, it's very large. I make about 1/3 of the portion each time and it makes a large soup bowl full already. Saying that, since I didn't make the full portion, the microwave time is much less. I cooked it for 2.5 mintues and it became a rock. For 1/3 of the portion, 1.75 minutes is plenty. It also rises quite a bit so remember not to fill your bowl to the top, you need a larger bowl. Don't forget to grease your bowl too.. I had a hard time taking it out when I didn't grease it enough. Other than that, the cake is very yummy and convenient. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I had some issues getting it to turn from batter to actually cake, but it's so freaking good I don't even care. Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellygreen49

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Well this is an amazing recipe! Did increase the sugar to 1/2 cup as others suggested and also upped it to 3 TABLESPOONS cocoa and it came out good. Lets face it, while it may not be the cake you bake for the next birthday party when it's 9:30 at night and you're wondering why you were so virtious and diet conscious at the grocery store and didn't buy ANY chocolate goodies, NADA --- nothing in the house---this quick little cake does the trick and does it quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States