Easy Microwave Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I added sugar and cocoa powder as suggested and this still came out tasting flour-y. The consistency was good, though. With nutella and a glass of milk, I enjoyed it, but I couldn't handle it plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Wow. Great cake. Fast, easy, and delicious. I took others' advice and used 1/2 cup sugar, 3 tbsp cocoa and 1 tsp baking powder. I also used margarine instead of butter and rice milk instead of cow milk. It's almost a different recipe. Hehe. I baked it 3 1/2 minutes in my microwave and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
For flavor and convenience, this totally gets five stars! Don't expect a texture like a baked cake, it's not the same. This is denser. My daughter and I loved this cake. I ended up not cooking it quite long enough, so there was still a bit of gooey batter on the bottom of the bowl when I inverted the cake. Being the "food safety expert" that I am, I just spread the batter on top of the cake like frosting. It tasted great, but next time I'll make sure it's cooked all the way! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This is great for a quick chocolate cake fix. I nuked butter + sugar for 30 sec to soften, then tossed the rest of the ingredients into the bowl, making the recommended changes: 1/2 cup of sugar, generous tsp of vanilla, 4 Tbsp of cocoa powder, and 1/2 tsp of baking powder. There's no need to combine the dry ingredients in a separate bowl -- one fewer bowl to wash. It tasted exactly like it was baked in the oven, minus the crispy top/sides. It was very chocolaty, moist, and evenly done in my cheap microwave. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
this was the most disgusting cake ever! i followed the other reviews and added more sugar and cocoa, and it was way too sweet! maybe if you try the normal recipe it will be ok...but dont add extra sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This cake is wonderful for a late night snake. It is not very sweet, so I simply added 1/2 cup of sugar and 1 TLBS. of cocoa. After doing so, this is a cake I will make time and time again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Excellent quick chocolate cake. I had a craving for chocolate cake but did not want to go through the mess of making one nor did I want a lot of leftover cake. I made this cake in my Pampered Chef mixing bowl, cooked it in the bowl, and my husband and I ate it out of the bowl. One bowl no mess & a yummy cake. I did take the suggestions into consideration and used 1/2 Cup of Sugar and 3T of cocoa. Very good ~ I will make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
omggg,,im among the preggos that were crazing cake,but way to lazy,and this was EXACTLY what i wanted! im sitting here eating,in choc-o-holic heaven! i did take the advice of some of the other,and used 1/2 cup sugar and an extra TB of coacoa,i also added a palmful of chocolate chips and topped it with powdered sugar,,,DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kruise's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I doubled the ingredients, except for the sugar which I replaced by 1.5 cup of Splenda + 3/4 cup of dry powder milk. It did not rise much, but it did taste quite chocolatey. I will try more Splenda next time since it wasn't sweet enough for me. Maybe it's because I change some of the igredients, but I would not call this cake delicious as other reviewers have. It's OK if you're desperate for chocolate cake but don't want to spend much time on baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I just tried this recipe and took the suggestion of adding more sugar and cocoa, and it turned out great. I frosted mine with some store bought frosting and drizzled some chocolate syrup on top and just ate it straight from the bowl. It was like one of those betty crocker microwave cakes but so much better. I can't wait to tell my friends about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States