Easy Microwave Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Not bad for a microwave cake! I doubled the sugar and cocoa, and added some frozen berries on top, delicious. But I could not seem to flip it over on to another plate so we just ate it out of the bowl! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This recipe deserves more than 5 stars!! WOW WOW WOW!!! I added the extra sugar and cocoa that the others had suggested and made the Nutella frosting - and oh my goodness, this cake was out of this world!!!! My Mother doesn't really like chocolate cake, but she LOVED THIS!!!! She couldn't believe how moist it was!! I will be making this recipe over and over again, and sharing it with family and friends. Thanks so much for a FAB FAB recipe!!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Wow, loved this recipe! Just made it and only used a third of the bowl, put it in a microwaveable mug and presto - cake in a cup! Only thing I changed was instead of cocoa I used a chocolate milk drink powder (contains mostly cocoa and sugar) and that was only because I didn't have cocoa. I think to post this as a single serving dessert is a mistake as that's a lot of chocolate cake for one craving but it's totally worth making even if you have a mini cake a day for a few days. Brill quick and easy recipe, thanks Laura! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I enjoyed this cake and it was fun to make it in the microwave. I added 1/2 cup sugar and a total of 1/2 t baking soda as suggested. I placed pecan pieces and chocolate chips on top of the cake before I placed it in the microwave and when I brought it out they were on the bottom and a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I followed the other suggestions and added the extra ingredients and only had to cook 1 1/2 minutes, it came out perfect. I added some chocolate chips too and cooked it in a coffee cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
sooo easy and tastes good too. i adjusted it alittle due to others reviews. 1/2 cup sugar, 3 tbs. cocoa, 1/4 cup cho. chips, and cooked it 3 1/2 min. let it sit for about 10 min. put whipped cream on it and it was delicious. no need to let it sit, but i just liked it a little drier. thank you laura for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I give it 5 stars, as adjusted. Per other reviewers, I added extra sugar, about 1/3 cup more than called for. I also think it is good to play with time / container size/shape. With that said, it gave me the exact chocolate fix I wanted from the ingredients I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This probably isn't the best tasting cake I've made, but it's so quick and easy I had to give it 5 stars. If you make up a simple icing to go with it it's great for a fast dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyStardust09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
this was pretty good. I added 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/2 tsp baking soda. I think i might have put it in the microwave for 30 secs too long and so it became dry. I did add pecans. It was yummy for microwaved cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I think this recipe works better if you use 1/2 - 3/4 C. sugar, 2 TBSP. cocoa powder & melt 2 oz. of milk chocolate (or whatever you prefer) with your butter and cream it together, then add sugar and other ingredients. I used strong coffee in place of the milk to enhance the chocolate flavor. Spilt the batter into two heavy microwave safe cereal bowls and let them go for about 2 min. 15 seconds. In order for them to be really flavorful, I let them sit and continue to carryover cook, I removed the cakes and glazed them with a simple chocolate butter glaze. I then covered them in foil and let them sit for about 8 hours. They came out tender & chewy, more like a brownie than a cake. Just don't use too much cocoa powder or you will have one dry, bitter cake. These would be great for slumber parties, simply because they are easy to make and fun to decorate- they have potential to be really cute, and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakergrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States