Easy Microwave Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I tried this recipe with my senior students who do a college dorm food unit. I had them mix ingredients in a large ziplock bag and after "squeezing" out the corner, we baked it in a pyrex pie plate. All five kitchens had a bit of a different way of "measuring", but all agreed it was good chocolate flavor and many commented that it was better than they had expected. We added more sugar and more cocoa powder as was suggested. I am curious as to what others used for the baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
The most fun part of this recipe was watching it bake in my microwave. That part was cool as heck. But the actual cake was pretty flavorless. We ended up putting ice cream and hot fudge on top which certainly improved it but I still wouldnt make the recipe again as written. Also, recipe seemed a lot closer to two servings than one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notoriousJEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This recipe is amazing - my friends still can't believe I can make such a good moist cake in the microwave! I follow the previous suggestions and doubled the cocoa powder and sugar. However, it's still not as chocolaty as I usually like, so I think I'll add some melted chocolate next time. I made this with chocolate fudge sauce, and in 15 minutes I had a great dessert. It's perfect stodge for my Scottist winter! Definately a keeper when I don't have time to cook or pre-heat the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I'm thrilled and terrified at the same time....finding this recipe makes late-night cake super accessible. :) Oh boy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
chocolatety but took over 5 min in the microwave and was still not done it was just a sticky mess won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama09
Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe was exactly what i was looking for! it was easy and erady in minutes, it took me about 7 bminutes total to make. i followed the suggestions and raised the sugar to 1/2 cup and the cocoa to 3T, it was perfect. i also ate it with a cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoholic17

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was great! I made the suggested changes. It worked wonderfully it was quick, rich, chocolatey, and convenient. I would definitely do it a again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This recipe was amazing. Although I did have to double it to make it big enough for a family of 4 (with two teenagers). I added an extra half a cup of sugar, an extra half tablespoon of cocoa and a decent handful of milk chocolate melts to the doubled recipe. The cake was sensational, we preferred to eat it warm so the melts stayed gooey and the cake was softer. All in all, this cake was a great success in our house hold (it was gone within a couple of hours)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This recipe can also be made in a rice cooker, for those (rare people) who don't have an oven or a microwave. It is great for people with low supplies and facilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
this has got to have 5 stars just for the ease of it. Decadence in 5 minutes! I had to make a few adjustments because I didn't have eggs on hand. I shouldn't admit that I used a 1/4 cup of eggnog since that is all I had. I had to increase the dry ingredients to compensate and so I also added some instant coffee crystals to mask the eggnog taste. I also added chocolate chips as others suggested and used 1/2 cup of sugar. A dollop of whipped cream and you're in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLDOOIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States