Easy Microwave Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, except using 3/4 c of sugar and 3 tbsp cocoa per other reviews. Baked it in an 8x5" glass dish, loosely topped with a plastic lid. I had trouble getting it to cook evenly; a big chunk on one side was still raw after 4 minutes, while other parts were getting overdone. The flavor is good, but the texture was not like regular cake, more like a cakey brownie - very dense and grainy. I think a thin dark chocolate glaze would've soaked in and made it nicer, but regular buttercream frosting wasn't bad, and it was best without any frosting at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I loved this cakei made it to put on ice cream, fabulous! I use 3/4 cup sugar and 3tbs unsweeted powder instead it was sweet and rich. the cake tasted more like a browny but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I used 3/4c. sugar as recommended . . . maybe a bit sweet, would do less next time. For a plain chocolate cake, I would try maybe 3 Tablespoons Cocoa Powder next time. *I also did a batch with 2 mashed bananas and mini chocolate chips mixed in. That was super great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Ok, followed the recipe exactly and kept a sharp eye on my microwave. I got an eggy-tasting brown mess. Didn't taste good at ALL. SO, I tried it again at my buddy's house thinking it was my microwave. Once again, eggy gross-ness. Can't say I'd recommend this one....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Schmeling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I also used the modifications and this came out nice and rich, I think I'll tweak it a bit and try it again another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glitch

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I'm in Indonesia at present, no oven only microwave, found this choc cake recipe and have now made it three times, went down very well with Indonesia family members especially with english custard, thank you a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Just made this cake and it was phenomenal! I divided the recipe into three because I didn't want too much, just enough to satisfy my sweet tooth. Ended up with this moist, tasty chocolate cake. Used brown sugar, non-fat milk, and whole wheat flour. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sara.sam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Makati, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Mmm, with the suggested changes of 3/4c sugar and some extra cocoa powder (I roughly measured, 2-3tbsp) this was a good cake, fantastic when you consider it came out of a microwave. The serving size is probably closer to 4. I thought it was especially dense and moist. Thanks very much for sharing, I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This was great on a hot night when I didn't want to use the oven. I made it as directed and the sweetness was just right, but I like dark chocolate and not the over-sweetened kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States