Easy Microwave Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
this was pretty good. I added 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/2 tsp baking soda. I think i might have put it in the microwave for 30 secs too long and so it became dry. I did add pecans. It was yummy for microwaved cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I think this recipe works better if you use 1/2 - 3/4 C. sugar, 2 TBSP. cocoa powder & melt 2 oz. of milk chocolate (or whatever you prefer) with your butter and cream it together, then add sugar and other ingredients. I used strong coffee in place of the milk to enhance the chocolate flavor. Spilt the batter into two heavy microwave safe cereal bowls and let them go for about 2 min. 15 seconds. In order for them to be really flavorful, I let them sit and continue to carryover cook, I removed the cakes and glazed them with a simple chocolate butter glaze. I then covered them in foil and let them sit for about 8 hours. They came out tender & chewy, more like a brownie than a cake. Just don't use too much cocoa powder or you will have one dry, bitter cake. These would be great for slumber parties, simply because they are easy to make and fun to decorate- they have potential to be really cute, and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakergrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I added sugar and cocoa powder as suggested and this still came out tasting flour-y. The consistency was good, though. With nutella and a glass of milk, I enjoyed it, but I couldn't handle it plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Wow. Great cake. Fast, easy, and delicious. I took others' advice and used 1/2 cup sugar, 3 tbsp cocoa and 1 tsp baking powder. I also used margarine instead of butter and rice milk instead of cow milk. It's almost a different recipe. Hehe. I baked it 3 1/2 minutes in my microwave and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
For flavor and convenience, this totally gets five stars! Don't expect a texture like a baked cake, it's not the same. This is denser. My daughter and I loved this cake. I ended up not cooking it quite long enough, so there was still a bit of gooey batter on the bottom of the bowl when I inverted the cake. Being the "food safety expert" that I am, I just spread the batter on top of the cake like frosting. It tasted great, but next time I'll make sure it's cooked all the way! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This is great for a quick chocolate cake fix. I nuked butter + sugar for 30 sec to soften, then tossed the rest of the ingredients into the bowl, making the recommended changes: 1/2 cup of sugar, generous tsp of vanilla, 4 Tbsp of cocoa powder, and 1/2 tsp of baking powder. There's no need to combine the dry ingredients in a separate bowl -- one fewer bowl to wash. It tasted exactly like it was baked in the oven, minus the crispy top/sides. It was very chocolaty, moist, and evenly done in my cheap microwave. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
this was the most disgusting cake ever! i followed the other reviews and added more sugar and cocoa, and it was way too sweet! maybe if you try the normal recipe it will be ok...but dont add extra sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This cake is wonderful for a late night snake. It is not very sweet, so I simply added 1/2 cup of sugar and 1 TLBS. of cocoa. After doing so, this is a cake I will make time and time again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Excellent quick chocolate cake. I had a craving for chocolate cake but did not want to go through the mess of making one nor did I want a lot of leftover cake. I made this cake in my Pampered Chef mixing bowl, cooked it in the bowl, and my husband and I ate it out of the bowl. One bowl no mess & a yummy cake. I did take the suggestions into consideration and used 1/2 Cup of Sugar and 3T of cocoa. Very good ~ I will make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
omggg,,im among the preggos that were crazing cake,but way to lazy,and this was EXACTLY what i wanted! im sitting here eating,in choc-o-holic heaven! i did take the advice of some of the other,and used 1/2 cup sugar and an extra TB of coacoa,i also added a palmful of chocolate chips and topped it with powdered sugar,,,DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kruise's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States