Easy Microwave Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This was not good at all. I read the reviews before I tried it and I made the recommended adjustments. I even tried to eat it with hot fudge and ice cream, but that didn't help the taste. Some things, I guess, just shouldn't be made in the microwave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Flavor-wise, this is a 3 1/2... convenience-wise, this is a 6. I took the advice of others and added just under 1/2 c. extra sugar. I think I'll add a little less next time, however, maybe enough to total 1/2 cup. I added 1/3 c. chocolate chips but will decrease to 1/4 cup. Although the addition makes it taste good, it makes it rather sludgy. I agree with another reviewer that the cake itself was not chocolaty enough. I will be doubling the coca powder next time... and there will be a next time. I think I shall make this once a month to cure my chocolate craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Perfect quick chocolate cake treat, very moist! I added another 1/4 cup of sugar and had to stir to mix the butter in after 1min in the micro. I too added another 30sec or so to the microwaving. I can't wait to make this for my husband - he loves chocolate cake! Great with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I don't know why the tough reviews. I guess it was just because of the lack of sweetness to it. However, once you add extra sugar,(abt 1/2 cup extra or so) It becomes perfect! I was watching a movie last night, and really was craving chocolate cake, so I got up and made this one for the first time, and during the commercial break none the less!! Prepared the batter during the first commercial break, and put in the bowl and microwaved it during the second! How fast is that! And let me tell you, it is really good. I added chocolate chips to the batter to make it even more chocolatey, and later made a quick nutella & milk frosting to cover the rest of the cake. One thing I would advise is not to refrigerate it, it becomes hard when you do. It really is a good cake, and would make again. Love the idea of making it without the fuss of preheating the oven, and using lots of dishes and pans. So fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I loved this cake. It is so handy to have something I can make real quick during late night sweet tooths. I too added a little more sugar to this recipe after reading some of the reviews but used a half splenda half sugar blend to cut down on carbs. It came out really good and was more than enough for two to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callie Harding

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This dessert was fantastic! It was quick and easy, and had amazing texture. We added the 3/4 cup sugar as recommended by another reviewer and is was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
yuck, even my 3 year old hated it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This was good for a quick chocolate fix, though I would have loved for it to be more chocolatey. I think I would increase the cocoa powder (and perhaps the sugar) a little if making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I made this the way the recipe said, and it was far from being sweet enough. I should have used the 3/4 cup sugar like other reviewers stated. I added some caramel sauce for the extra sweetness and it was quite good. I'll try it with more sugar next time, but all in all, it's a pretty good little cake thats quick and perfect for a craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Really very good, and so easy! I would give 5 stars, but I had to use slightly different ingredients. I used 3/4C sugar as another reviewer suggested, used canned coconut milk instead of regular milk, and dry chocolate malt mix instead of cocoa (coconut milk and malt mix were all I had). I mixed it all up, and put it in the fridge. Every day I am going to microwave about 1/3 of a cup to have dessert for one - about 5 days worth. I just finished one little cake, and it is not lacking at all for sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States