Easy Microwave Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I doubled the ingredients, except for the sugar which I replaced by 1.5 cup of Splenda + 3/4 cup of dry powder milk. It did not rise much, but it did taste quite chocolatey. I will try more Splenda next time since it wasn't sweet enough for me. Maybe it's because I change some of the igredients, but I would not call this cake delicious as other reviewers have. It's OK if you're desperate for chocolate cake but don't want to spend much time on baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I just tried this recipe and took the suggestion of adding more sugar and cocoa, and it turned out great. I frosted mine with some store bought frosting and drizzled some chocolate syrup on top and just ate it straight from the bowl. It was like one of those betty crocker microwave cakes but so much better. I can't wait to tell my friends about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
As I was making this I expected it to be not so good, but it was surprisingly good. Not like a cake from a high end bakery, but better than a cake mix cake (I hate cake mix cakes). The texture was a bit off--a little spongy, but the taste was fine. Also, I halved the recipe (I could tell it would make more than one serving) and made it healthier--light butter, skim milk, Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
this cake is delicious. i added 2 tablespoons of sugar and instead of cocoa powder, i used some chocolate which i melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
AMAZING! late night snack when pregnant and lazy! LOL i cooked it for 2 1/2 min and did not wait 5 minutes to take it out of the bowl, i guess it was not totally "baked" but it had like a glaze on top... REALLY good and also used 1/2 c. of sugar Would make again and OFTEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Very surprising! Excellent and moist! i followed the sugestions, and it made it MUCH better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I'm rating this a 5 because it met all my expectations. I didn't expect it to taste as good as my cakes baked in the oven. I did add a little bit more sugar and less cocoa as advised. Next time I'll not lessen the cocoa. Thinking I might try leaving the cocoa out sometime and adding lemon juice (reducing the milk a little). It's just great when you need an emergency dessert, Serve with some strawberries or peaches, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was disgustingly easy! It was amazing, and so fast! I had no idea that anything like this was even possible. I used some of the suggestions posted by other people and used 3/4 sugar (altogether) and 3 tbsp of cocoa. It was really good, especially if your just craving chocolate carbs! Next time I think chocolate chips would take it out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Really great and really easy. I added the baking soda as recommended in previous reviews (1/2 tsp), however I kept the sugar the same - but I like my cakes a little less sweet. For an nice warm spice, add a bit of nutmeg and cinnamon to the batter and drizzle it with hot cocao sauce (cocao powder with a little hot milk and sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This wasn't "TO DIE FOR...", but it was a great substitute for "the real thing" in a pinch, just after the kids went down, before a movie with hubby. I used 1/2 cup BROWN sugar and 2 tablespoons Hershey's Dark cocoa... it was good! It did take close to 4 minutes in my full-size microwave - I cooked in a 4 qt size round corningware with the glass lid. Be careful not to use too much cooking spray if you go that route... way to go, to a pregnant craving mom! I never created anything this good under those circumstances! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacherie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States