Easy Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Just ok. Mot sure if I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Amazing, easy, and delicious!! Perfect combination of all ingredients. I didn't add any salt or pepper, and it tasted great. Only thing I would change would be to add more lettuce. I hardly could taste/feel the texture of it; could use maybe 1/2 cup more to get more crunch. Very filling rice. We used it as a side dish, but if you have enough of it, you could enjoy as a full meal. So good!!! And you know if I didn't mess it up, it's a very easy dish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britt Kaczorowski

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Delicious! I did make some changes though. I did not use lettuce at all. Since I did not have tomato sauce, I used spaghetti sauce that had chunks of veggies. Because of that, I eliminated the canned tomatoes. I also took the advice of other reviewers and cut the water down, using only 1 cup of water. I also cooked the rice with everything else. I just dumped everything into a pan and cooked it all together. It couldn't be easier! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Hutton-Loyer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Easy, Healthy & yummy! I serve it with salsa, sour cream and chips. Occasionally, with salad on top. Great vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Marrott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I followed this recipe almost exactly except used white rice and black beans. "Four" servings is an underestimate...I would cut the recipe in half next time. It makes a great stuffing for burritos, just add meat, sour cream and cheese. As a side dish, its a little strong - the taco seasoning really takes over. I will use this same idea in the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniwithani

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Very good and very easy. I love one pot meals. I doubled the recipe and also cooked my rice in the tomato sauce / seasoning mixture. I used white rice as I didn't have brown, added half a chopped onion and finished it off with some sour cream and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by drella
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Following the recommendations in some of the reviews I decided to put most of the ingredients in at the beginning and bring to a boil and than add the rice, as opposed to boiling the rice only in water. I put in a can of sauce and a can of diced tomatoes and cut the rice down to one cup. I also added saffron and chili powder in addition to the taco seasoning. I added fresh cilantro along with some diced onions, garlic and green and orange peppers in addition to the beans. This recipe made a larger amount then expected. It was slightly more tomato-y than I would have liked and I think next time I will make it a little more spicy. All in all an incredibly quick and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was wonderful. I just cut the tomato sauce down to 8 oz can, did not add the lettuce or beans. I kept the beans on the side so the kids would eat it, but I added my own beans when I ate it. I added a can of mexican corn. I also had cooked the rice with the tomatoes the entire cooking time. Family loved it. SO HEALTHY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was good, but needed a little something more. I wanted to use up some brown rice, so I thought I'd try this one. It looked like it was too saucy, so I only used about 1/2 the tomato sauce called for. I also ended up leaving out the kidney beans when I realized the can I picked up at the store was actually chili beans! After tasting, I ended up adding onion, a finely diced jalapeno and a little red pepper, plus some cumin. Then it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States