Easy Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
Good recipe. Tasty and easy to prepare. Lettuce makes a nice compliment and adds texture. I made the following modifications to the recipe: 1. Used black beans instead of kidney (just a personal preference). 2. Put taco seasoning, tomato sauce and diced tomatos in the pot with rice in the *beginning* of the cooking process instead of the end (so rice would absorb flavor). 3. Because I added sauce and diced tomatos in at the beginning, I decreased water by 1 cup (used 2 cups instead of 3). I still had to cook the rice with the lid off to cook off liquids, so in the future, I will probably try decreasing water even more. 4. Added a bit of cheese on top and a couple of tortilla chips on the side. Will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
This is a super easy and tasty burrito stuffer. As previously suggested I cooked the rice with the tomato sauce and taco seasoning. I, also, added about a cup of frozen corn, a small can of chopped black olives and I used a large fresh tomato instead of the can of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Chestertown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
This was excellent, everyone loved it! My husband has eaten it for 3 days straight now and is still raving about it. I used all of the recommendations by the last reviewer, NADROJ451. I used instant brown rice which meant I was done with dinner in about 15 minutes! We've never had black beans before, or a meal without meat for that matter so I was pleasantly surprised! This looks very appealing and is very filling. This moves to the front of my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was great! I gave it a 4 because I made some changes. I sauteed some onion, garlic and 1/2 head of green cabbage in canola oil until soft, added the rice and taco seasoning and sauteed then added the water and beans. After the rice was cooked, I added some frozen peas and a can of tomatoes with jalapenos (I think an additional can of tomato sauce would have been too much tomato). It turned out great! Made a lot of food, my hubby loved it and we used it as burrito filling! Very healthy, cheap and satisfying-thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
My family loves this dish! I use black beans and sometimes just the rice w/ no beans. I also omit the lettuce. I put everything (spices, tomato sauce) in from the get go as some reviewers suggested. Great way to get picky eaters to eat brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethmorris1125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brecksville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This recipe was good! I added ground turkey and used "seasoned black beans" I also put all the ingredients together and used the smaller can of tomato sauce. We really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Excellent recipe if you cook the rice in the tomatoes and sauce instead of just water. I decreased the water and used Ro-Tel tomatoes since my family likes things spicy. And I've used every bean imaginable for this dish, except the kidney bean. Just our preference. Very tasty and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
There was just too much tomato taste for us. I will try this again and just add a can of Rotel tomatoes, also substitute black beans for the kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
This was really good! I used white basmati rice as I didn't have brown, used pinto beans in lieu of kidney and had to ditch the tomatoes 'cos I didn't have that either. However, just using the tomato sauce with the addition of a can of enchilada sauce, and our favorite spice; cayenne, we all loved this. Good recipe HeatheR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This stuff is so amazing! I added 2 T of homemade taco seasoning to the rice while it was cooking; I also left out the tomato sauce. I don't think it would have been necessary. I did not cook the lettuce, instead lining a flour tortilla with it before topping with the rice mixture, some cheese, and some fresh cilantro. Better than Chipotle! Update: made this again, this time used the tomato sauce but not the diced tomatoes. Turned out soupier and I didn't like it as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States