Easy Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
My son's 3rd grade class was celebrating around the world. We wanted to make something quick and easy for 30 kids! It was great!!! Everyone in his class loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
This was a really good recipe that I thought tasted even better as leftovers the next night. It was also a good way to get my family to eat more brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
I've been trying to find a tasty way to add brown rice to my diet, and this was it! I substituted a can of black beans for the kidney beans, and topped it with a little diced onion and some cheddar cheese. The flavor was wonderful, and it couldn't have been easier. My 10 year old daughter would not touch it, but then, she doesn't like anything anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
Good recipe. Tasty and easy to prepare. Lettuce makes a nice compliment and adds texture. I made the following modifications to the recipe: 1. Used black beans instead of kidney (just a personal preference). 2. Put taco seasoning, tomato sauce and diced tomatos in the pot with rice in the *beginning* of the cooking process instead of the end (so rice would absorb flavor). 3. Because I added sauce and diced tomatos in at the beginning, I decreased water by 1 cup (used 2 cups instead of 3). I still had to cook the rice with the lid off to cook off liquids, so in the future, I will probably try decreasing water even more. 4. Added a bit of cheese on top and a couple of tortilla chips on the side. Will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
This was excellent, everyone loved it! My husband has eaten it for 3 days straight now and is still raving about it. I used all of the recommendations by the last reviewer, NADROJ451. I used instant brown rice which meant I was done with dinner in about 15 minutes! We've never had black beans before, or a meal without meat for that matter so I was pleasantly surprised! This looks very appealing and is very filling. This moves to the front of my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
this is great i love it and we serve it in tortillas with melted cheese .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Great side dish! I followed the advice of another rater and cooked the rice with the tomatoes/sauce/taco seasoning--this really gave the rice a nice flavor; however, I had difficulty getting the rice cooked through (I had to add a bit of water during the cooking process). Will definitely make this again the next time we have a Mexican main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
YAHOO! I added a small can (8 oz) of Rold Gold thick & hot tomato sauce (it has garlic, onion & jalapeno added) and one (8 oz) can of Jewel brand sauce. WOW it was pretty spicy! Needless to say my children didn't eat it, but I LOVED it. I also used left over white rice (although I prefer brown) and a can of Rold Gold Mexican Fiesta tomatoes, which I didn't drain due to the "thick" sauce. Easy & tasty, my kinda recipe. Thanks HeatheR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
This was really good! I used white basmati rice as I didn't have brown, used pinto beans in lieu of kidney and had to ditch the tomatoes 'cos I didn't have that either. However, just using the tomato sauce with the addition of a can of enchilada sauce, and our favorite spice; cayenne, we all loved this. Good recipe HeatheR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
This is a super easy and tasty burrito stuffer. As previously suggested I cooked the rice with the tomato sauce and taco seasoning. I, also, added about a cup of frozen corn, a small can of chopped black olives and I used a large fresh tomato instead of the can of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Chestertown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States