Easy Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I tried this recipe out on some family members that came over for a grill. It was a huge hit. I will be making it on Sunday for my granddaughters baptism party. We are doing a Mexican grill party with Carne Asada, this rice dish and etc. etc. Thank you for sharing this with all of us. Oh, I too added all ingredients to the water with the rice (omitting the shredded lettuce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was great! I gave it a 4 because I made some changes. I sauteed some onion, garlic and 1/2 head of green cabbage in canola oil until soft, added the rice and taco seasoning and sauteed then added the water and beans. After the rice was cooked, I added some frozen peas and a can of tomatoes with jalapenos (I think an additional can of tomato sauce would have been too much tomato). It turned out great! Made a lot of food, my hubby loved it and we used it as burrito filling! Very healthy, cheap and satisfying-thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. I followed another reviewer's suggestion to add in the tomato ingredients in the beginning, which seemed to make the rice simultaneously raw and burnt. I will make this again to see if the original method works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Very tasty. It does make quite a bit of rice though, so either halve the recipe, or invite the neighbours! My 10-year old son thought that added corn niblets might be a nice added touch and I think I agree. We'll try that the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Sigh. I really, really WANTED to like this. It was just a big ball of tomato-flavored mush, and leftovers were even worse. No one in my household wanted more than a few bites. And it definitely made too much, to boot. I won't be making this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I usually just make a boxed Mexican rice for the sake of easy prep. This was better than the boxed stuff and just as easy. And I like that it is whole grain. Next time I will use tomatoes with green chilis. I did not stir in the lettuce. This make a huge amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
One of my favorite dishes to make. For me being "Semi-vegetarian" this can go as a whole dinner for me (it has protein carbs, and veggies in it). I like my food a little spicy, so I add a few sprinkles of cayenne pepper to the rice when I add in the taco seasoning mix. yummmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Lois
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Good stuff! Didn't have packaged taco seasoning so I added garlic powder, cayenne, salt, pepper, oregano, chili powder to season. Tasted great! Had a little kick but that was of my own doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GospelSingerGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
i was pleasantly surprised by this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Another adaptation: Omit the tomatoes, paste, and taco seasoning, and substitute your favorite salsa! I used Nature's Promise medium, added some shredded cheese, and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine and Matthew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States