Easy Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Just ok. Mot sure if I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Amazing, easy, and delicious!! Perfect combination of all ingredients. I didn't add any salt or pepper, and it tasted great. Only thing I would change would be to add more lettuce. I hardly could taste/feel the texture of it; could use maybe 1/2 cup more to get more crunch. Very filling rice. We used it as a side dish, but if you have enough of it, you could enjoy as a full meal. So good!!! And you know if I didn't mess it up, it's a very easy dish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Delicious! I did make some changes though. I did not use lettuce at all. Since I did not have tomato sauce, I used spaghetti sauce that had chunks of veggies. Because of that, I eliminated the canned tomatoes. I also took the advice of other reviewers and cut the water down, using only 1 cup of water. I also cooked the rice with everything else. I just dumped everything into a pan and cooked it all together. It couldn't be easier! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Hutton-Loyer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Easy, Healthy & yummy! I serve it with salsa, sour cream and chips. Occasionally, with salad on top. Great vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peppermintkathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I followed this recipe almost exactly except used white rice and black beans. "Four" servings is an underestimate...I would cut the recipe in half next time. It makes a great stuffing for burritos, just add meat, sour cream and cheese. As a side dish, its a little strong - the taco seasoning really takes over. I will use this same idea in the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniwithani

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Very good and very easy. I love one pot meals. I doubled the recipe and also cooked my rice in the tomato sauce / seasoning mixture. I used white rice as I didn't have brown, added half a chopped onion and finished it off with some sour cream and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by drella
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Following the recommendations in some of the reviews I decided to put most of the ingredients in at the beginning and bring to a boil and than add the rice, as opposed to boiling the rice only in water. I put in a can of sauce and a can of diced tomatoes and cut the rice down to one cup. I also added saffron and chili powder in addition to the taco seasoning. I added fresh cilantro along with some diced onions, garlic and green and orange peppers in addition to the beans. This recipe made a larger amount then expected. It was slightly more tomato-y than I would have liked and I think next time I will make it a little more spicy. All in all an incredibly quick and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was wonderful. I just cut the tomato sauce down to 8 oz can, did not add the lettuce or beans. I kept the beans on the side so the kids would eat it, but I added my own beans when I ate it. I added a can of mexican corn. I also had cooked the rice with the tomatoes the entire cooking time. Family loved it. SO HEALTHY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was good, but needed a little something more. I wanted to use up some brown rice, so I thought I'd try this one. It looked like it was too saucy, so I only used about 1/2 the tomato sauce called for. I also ended up leaving out the kidney beans when I realized the can I picked up at the store was actually chili beans! After tasting, I ended up adding onion, a finely diced jalapeno and a little red pepper, plus some cumin. Then it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States