Easy Mexican Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was a big hit with my Junior troop (girl scouts). They had a blast guessing the "secret" ingredient (chili powder). Only complaint was that after sitting it seems to separate and there is a rather unappetizing sludge at the bottom - I think this is one drink that has to be drunk immediately, not allowed to sit (ours was made ahead of time and kept warm in a crockpot for about 45 minutes). Even whisking it back together to serve didn't eliminate the eventual sludge. I would make it again, definitely, but to drink right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
i have been trying to find a hot chocolate recipe with chili in it for the longest time! however as i am very particular about my hot chocolate i didn't use the chocolate syrup, just a little bit more of the instant powder. For people who find that your powders get clumpy when the water/milk is added i would suggest that you add a little bit(about 1 tbsp) of milk or water to your powder and mix it up to make a thick syrup and then add the rest of your water, this just makes the mixing much easier and prevents clumping! excellent recipe! yumm yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
thi is amazing. i got the recipe yesterday and have already made the hot chocolate over 5 times. even my family mebers enjoy it!! it was a bit nervous about the chil powder because i don't like spicy foods but it actually added a nice subtle kick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This was really tasty,the chili adds a spicy kick that you only feel in your throat and the cinnamon balances the flavor. I used French vanilla creamer instead of milk and vanilla flavoring. That's what I had on hand. I noticed that someone complained about the cinnamon and chili rising to the top. You can fix this by mixing all the dry ingredients seperately then adding the hot water or milk a little bit at a time while whipping it to eliminate clumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelazdesign

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I thought this was good. Strong cinnamon-chocolate taste, but there were small chunks of something (maybe clumped cinnamon?) in the drink. I liked how the ingredients were easy to find, I didn't have to go out and buy something when I felt like making this one night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Nice and easy change to the regular hot cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This tastes great, but it doesn't mix together too well if you follow the directions. I found it is a lot easier to mix the dry ingredients in a mug, then add the chocolate syrup to the milk (I do a half cup each milk and water, by the way), and I heat it in the microwave while the water boils on the stove. I stir the warmed chocolate milk into the dry ingredients and stir to combine, then add the boiling water and give it a good stir until everything dissolves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This was amazing! But do not, use the instant mix! I used 2TB unseetened cocoa powder instead, and with the chocolate syrup, it was still plenty sweet and had such a rich deep chocolate flavor. In fact, what I'm going to do next is omit the chocolate syrup altogether( to omit the high fructose corn syrup), use two to three tablespoons of cocoa powder, and a ts of sugar to sweeten. And when it says a PINCH of chilli, it really is NOT kidding, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This was quite tasty, something nice and different to try. I had mixed all my other ingredients together when I went to the fridge for milk, and realized that I didn't have any! So I used some left over evaporated milk I had in the fridge instead! I'm not sure how much this changed it, but it sure tasted fine! I did do as others suggested and used 1/2 milk to 1/2 water. The only complaint I had was that it was so rich, I couldn't drink it all on my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was excellent! A note for reviewer Framuesa: Putting just a few drops of hot water into the dry mix allows you to mix the powder into a paste before you add the rest of the liquid so that there are no "floaties".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States