Easy Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2003
This recipe was excellent. I have made it twice already. I added about a tablespoon of worcestershire sauce to the meat mixture and sauteed the onions in a little butter and garlic just for a few minutes until the onions were softened. It was delicious!!!!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8420 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Good Stuff - I did follow the advice of other reviewers: 1. Sauted the onion 2. Use seasoned bread crumbs 3. Doubled the ketchup mixture and reduced the amount of mustard a tad 4. 1 tbsp Worstishire in the meat mix 5. Line the pan with foil for easy clean up 6. LET THE MEAT REST before slicing. Served it with Paula Deens Cottage Potato's and steamed vegetables. No complaints from the boys who were over for dinner. Went down well with a 2004 Pinot Noir. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5972 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This was a great recipe. I compiled and followed all of the advice of previous reviewers: -I lightly browned the onions in butter before adding. -I also added chopped green onions, mushrooms, and a green bell pepper. -I used italian seasoned breadcrumbs. -I tripled the sauce (many said that there was not enough sauce/topping) and -I baked for longer than the recipe states (I baked for a total of one hour and 25 minutes). It came out perfectly. Thanks for the great recipe, and reviewers thanks for the great hints/amendments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4770 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I have tried some more "exotic" meatloaf recipes on this site which have turned out quite good, but my husband wanted more of a basic meatloaf so that it would be good on a sandwich the next day. I chose this recipe based on the high marks and the easy ingredients. I substituted ground turkey for the beef, and followed the "most helpful" suggestions of sauteeing the onions in butter + garlic, and adding 1 Tbsp. of worchestshire to the meat mix. Other than that, followed the recipe completely, and it was wonderful!!! Very tasty and moist (one thing I can't stand is a dry meatloaf, not this one!) and I have a feeling it will make great meatloaf sandwiches tomorrow. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
922 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I made this recipe and altered it according to previous reviews: 1) I added Worcestershire Sauce 2)didn't have any fresh onion so I used minced 3)added garlic powder 4) added 1 slice of bread ripped into pieces since it seemed too wet when mixing 5)used a glass baking dish 6)doubled the topping 7)used seasoned bread crumbs. A 1.30# of meat cooked in an hour. This turned out great and we went back for seconds even when my man is sick and said he wasn't hungry! I personally thought the topping was a tad too sweet so I would do everything the same next time except reduce the brown sugar some. This was very easy and a big hit. Will definitely make again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
720 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
YUMMY!!! Made this dish for company the other night and WOW! It was a BIG hit! My 6 yr old had 2 huge pieces and my hubby even had leftovers for breakfast the next morning while we were all still sleeping! I used 2-1/4lbs. of ground beef, kept the 1 onion(1 of my guests is not a big onion fan), 2 eggs, 1-1/2 cups of both milk and SEASONED breadcrumbs, threw in some garlic powder and parsley flakes and doubled the ketchup mixture. Seasoned breadcrumbs are a must for this recipe; Would be very bland without them. Thanks for the great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
597 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zo Zee
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I made this meatloaf with my boyfriend. Not only was it delicious but we had a lot of fun making it. At first i was worried that it would be too onion-y, but using the whole onion was well worth it. - or - it was a dark dark scary night and i was home all alone, hungry and scared, i held on to my lonesome thoughts as i sat on the toilet and tried to relax. all of the sudden the hunger kicked in and got off the toilet and walked in the kitchen, opened the fridge and there it was, a big juicy hunk of meat with onions, pepper, and one medium sized egg. without a second thought i clenched my teeth into it and stuck out my tounge... mmmmmmmmm oh my lord it was so meaty and loafy. my night was made. i want you to also digest it and feel its effects. it just... just... magical. may god be with all of you. i love you all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
390 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zo Zee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This recipe was definitely easy to make but I wasn't sure of the brown sugar mixture that goes on top and sure enough when my husband tried it, he said it was like eating desert and dinner at the same time. He said it was way to sweet and that he couldnt taste the meat b/c of all the breadcrumbs. May want to cut back to less than 3/4 cup. He made me promise not to make this again. Personally, I thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This is the same recipe that I have used for years. My son only likes ketchup on his, but the rest of us love the sweet/tangy sauce. I also add 8 saltine crackers crumbled into crumbsand reduce the bread crumbs by the amount of crackers and a small minced cut carrot to it. This is a very good and moist recipe. This recipe also does well with green pepper or mushrooms added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Sorry But this was the worst Meatloaf I ever tasted! Although my dogs loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,678) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Mary's Meatloaf

Even non-meatloaf fans like this rich dish. The secret’s in the glaze.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States