Easy Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
First time I've had meatloaf since I found out I can't eat wheat. I made it gluten- and lactose-free - I substituted 3.5 slices of gluten-free (semi-stale) bread for the crumbs, just tore them into relatively small pieces. Instead of milk, I used gluten-free beer (made from sorghum). I like my onions a little toothy so I used them raw. I did put 1 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce in the meat mix along with squirts of ketchup and mustard, since that's what my mom always did. In the topping, I used a little less ketchup and a little more coarse brown mustard, I also completely skipped the brown sugar. We loved it, my son ate 3 pieces and asked me to make it again. I look forward to having this tomorrow as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sings2high

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I liked this meatloaf. I am not sure what the complaints were about especially the under cooked part. I always check it with thermometer anyway just to make sure. I however cooked in 3 separate small round tins for an hr and was perfect. I also found there was plenty of sauce. Thanks for recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I made this minus the mustard (just not a fan) and substituted ground turkey and minced I onion flakes because it was what I had on hand, and it STILL turned out great. My picky kids went for seconds. And was very simple to make. Definately putting this in rotation for those busy nights I have to throw something together quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Really good and super easy. Only thing I'll change next time is replace half the onion with diced bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lainie DeLany
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Best meatloaf ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I've been making this meatloaf for several years and it is the best. But I don't bake in oven. I shape into a loaf in a glass pan, cover and cook at 70 percent power in my microwave for 24-27 minutes. Very moist and quite a crowd-pleaser. Really great with mild horseradish and for meatloaf sandwiches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
An easy recipe and quite good. I made the recipe as is. Because of my long work days, I made the recipe the night before. I put the meat in the loaf pan and stuck in in the fridge. I mixed up the sauce for the topping and left it in a separate bowl in the fridge. The next day, it was easy for hubby or an older child to add the topping and stick it in the oven, so that I didn't have a lot of prep work after a long day at work. My picky seven year old loved it. The twelve year old ate it that night and again for lunch and still loved it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Briese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I made some adjustments to the recipe and the dish was a huge success. I added a 1/4cup of Granny Smith apple sauce and 1/2Tbs to the brown sugar mustard ketchup mix. Also, Lined the bottom of the bread pan with Sliced Italian bread 1 layer, Then coated it with a paste made of 3/4c brown Sugar,1/4c water,1tbs cinnamon, and Italian bread crumbs added to make a paste that was just moist enough to spread on the bread. This soaked up grease from the lean ground meat. I then placed the meatloaf mix in which I only used a 1/2 of a onion diced and a small clove of diced garlic. After the 1hr time, I removed from oven then removed the bread from the bottom, (dumped on plate bottom side up) then recovered with the original pan and placed back in the oven at 225 for approx. 30 minutes while I completed side dishes. This was the best meatloaf I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
This is the best and easiest meatloaf recipe ever. I also sauteed the onion since my son can spot an onion a mile away. I omitted the topping since both son and hubby like ketchup only. I even added 1/4 cup of ketchup to the meat mixture for an even better taste. Thanks a million Janet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
been making my meatloaf like this for years...I dont use that much milk and I always add some parmesan cheese ..so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Osborne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Mary's Meatloaf

Even non-meatloaf fans like this rich dish. The secret’s in the glaze.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States