Easy Masoor Daal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This is a good side dish that could go well with many different options. I went with cumin powder instead of seeds plus extra cayenne. About fifteen minutes into cooking I needed to add a forth cup of water also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Delicious! Tastes very traditional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
So easy and tasty. I just added onion powder and ground cumin instead of step 2 (no oil). Incredibly low calorie and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Used fresh onion and added garlic, garam masala, more cumin, and diced tomatoes as other reviewers suggested. Served over white rice. Thumbs up from the whole family. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Incredibly easy and fast. If you want rice with it, start the rice first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This probably would have been fantastic as is but I made the following changes: -added a diced small onion and a large clove of garlic -cooked lentils on their own with some salt -sauteed onion and garlic in oil then added spices -increased turmeric to 1 tsp, added 1 tsp garam masala and used 1 tsp ground cumin instead of seeds -added extra tsp salt along with a chopped tomato at the end This made enough for my husband and I with enough for 1 serving left over. Next time I'll double the recipe so we can have more leftovers. Excellent vegan meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I sauteed the onions and cumin seeds and added minced garlic and this is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Wow! I'm not a frequent cooker of lentils, but this was very good (and very fast). I took the suggestions of a few other reviewers: I added garam masala, garlic, and a little extra turmeric. I also added diced tomatoes and cilantro. Excellent--will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristinL77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Very delicious!!! Made as is accept used real onions and caramelized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States