Easy Mashed Potato and Roasted Vegetable Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Add a packet of taco seasoning along with the salt and pepper before roasting veggies. Makes a WORLD of difference in the flavor. A friend of mine used the leftover potato/veggie mix to make calazones. :) Also, you can use a bag of thawed broccoli florets to cut down on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
LOVED THEM! I just did mashed potatoes and broccoli and they were amazing. I will definitely be cooking these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelso!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Delicious! Made this with homemade mashed potatoes and a taco cheese blend. I also sprinkled taco seasoning over the veggies before roasting and put the carrots in for about 15 mins before adding the other veggies. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Mercier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Made this as directed in recipe and it was good. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Okay, I just can't give enchiladas filled with mashed potatoes a 5 star rating; but for a wacky throw-together dish this was a family pleaser. SHORT CUTS to save time and clean up: I used fresh carrot shreds, 1 head of fresh broccoli, a mix of frozen zucchini and onions, and frozen mushrooms. I also bought ready-made, micowavable mashed potatoes. I put all the veggies, olive oil, salt and pepper in a lg. ziplock bag and gave them the "shake and bake" treatment. Then I BROILED them for about 15 min., turning halfway through (cut cooking time in half). While they were cooking I headed the tortillas in a microwave tortilla warmer for a min. and the mashed potatoes in the microwave for three min. I added a can of chopped green chiles and a small can of chopped olives. Once the veggies were heated through and the broccoli started to get a little brown on the tips (don't burn it), I set up a quick assembly line. Put about 1/3 of can of sauce on the bottom of a microwave (glass or pottery) 13X9 pan. Then I spooned in a large heap of potatoes and mashed the broiled veggies into them and added a little cheese. I rolled them (sort of, they are fat, so I put the seams on the side, more like a soft taco), and put them in the pan tight. This made about 12 enchiladas. I topped the whole thing with the rest of the sauce, the chiles, olives, and a layer of cheese. Cover and heat in the microwave for 6 min. until the cheese is melted. Serve right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Super delicious! I used fresh garlic mashed potatoes, as I am a scratch made kinda woman. I used roasted zucchini, broccoli, onions, and mushrooms in them and they turned out great. I actually had much leftover filling, so the next day I made enchilada pie. It works really well with just two tortillas, a packet of sauce, and the leftover filling. To this I also added black olives and Daiya mozzarella cheese. Totally vegan, totally yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison M. Rykiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This dish was awful!!! Sorry but it just tasted terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Sound delicious and I plan to make them for dinner next week. However, I will substitute sauteed red and green peppers, onions, and mushrooms for the other vegetables. These veggies are less bother to cook and make this dish more like mashed potato fajitas, and I love fajitas. I might even put fajita seasoning on the sauteed veggies. Thanks for posting this great meal inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Excellent! I omitted the mashed potatoes and used roasted onions, red peppers, mushrooms and carrots. I added chili beans for protein and used red and green enchilada sauce and lots of cheese. I layered the ingredients for the casserol-effect. Served with slices of avocado on top. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Miller Bishop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Yum! I absolutely adored these, but my hubs wasn't a fan. Admittedly, he is not fond of broccoli (he hates this vegetable above all others...), but in my defense, I DID give him the option of assembling his enchiladas WITHOUT it.... :) That aside, I just don't think my hubby was thrilled with the overall concept. And while I really enjoyed these, I do have a couple of suggestions for improvement. First and foremost, you MUST use HOMEMADE mashed potatoes (I just couldn't get past the processed taste of the instant ones). I think it's also IMPERATIVE that you up the amount of zucchini and carrot called for (both seemed non-existent, IMHO). Because I was only serving two people, I halved everything and used larger (corn) tortillas to compensate. I made 4 GENEROUS sized enchiladas and that was more than enough for my husband and I. Because we hate mushrooms, I left those out altogether. I used 2 small zucchini, 1 c. of carrots and a little more than half a package of pre-cut broccoli florets instead. I whipped up a batch of Bill Echols taco seasoning and added ~ 1 1/2 T of it to my veggies PRIOR to roasting. I'm soooo glad I did this! Without the additional seasoning, I'm afraid our enchiladas would have been very bland. Mexican rice, homemade guac and beer margaritas completed our meal. Thanks for sharing this unique recipe with the AR community, JUSTLETTY2! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States