Easy Marinated Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Good recipe. Be sure to marinate the full time. Adding olives and/or feta or mozzerella cubes really perks this up. Also, consider making some fresher dressing vs using the bottled. I compromised & made up a bottle of Good Season Italian, using nice olive oil & part red wine/part balsamic vinegar. A extra 5 min., but it had a big payoff in taste, made an exceptional difference. The red vinegar darkens this a little bit, but is a nice variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
Tasty alternative to raw with ranch or steaming! The first time I made it exactly as written and used Wishbone's fat-free italian and it came out pretty good but not flavorful enough. The second time I switched the green bell to red for color and added some mushrooms to the mix...mmmmm! I also doctored up a packet of Good Seasons Italian dressing mix with olive oil, a bit of crushed tomatoes and some garlic-red wine vinegar to make a flavorful tomato vinegarette--yum! Oh, and definitely go the full hour or more for flavor. I usually hate feta, but I gave it a try using a garlic-herb variety and it definitely enhanced the overall appeal. My husband liked it and I enjoyed the leftovers for lunch the next day (even more flavorful then!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
A simple and geat idea. I tried this adding red onion to the cheese and olives, and I used a Greek-style dressing instead of Italian. I loved it, but my boyfriend didn't care for it, only because he flat-out refuses to eat vegetables, but I think with the right veggie combinations, this will slowly win him over. Be sure to let it marinate for the full hour, if not more. I only had time to let it sit for 45 minutes, and a lot of the vegetables hadn't really soaked up the dressing. Otherwise, great recipe and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2000
A great recipe for those midday snacks, especially for someone trying to maintain their weight as well as watching their blood sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2000
Very good in the summer, when everything is fresh. Also easy to substitute other vegetables as you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2000
Very good, I took this to the rest home for a potluck and everyone loved it.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
What a great way to eat your veggies. I give this a 5 star because for veggies, it is a 5 star. It's not good like a big cheese enchilada or a bowl of ice cream but I will make my veggies like this more often. Like many other reviews, I used a Good Seasons packet and used mostly balsamic vinegar instead of all white vinegar. Marinated the veggies in it overnight (used a red bell instead of a green. Next time, I might use all brocolli rather than cauliflower). Added olives and feta cheese. This also needs SALT! Don't forget the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
Simple. I brought to a church dinner and it went over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
this was a very good recipe children loved it with the feta cheese thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
Very good, very easy. Made me feel like I was eating something good for me (and actually be doing it) when I was pregnant. I marinated over night, using Good Seasons with wine vinegar, added a few olives chopped fine. Wowed the in-laws at a dinner party. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNYGRRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States