Easy Mac 'n' Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I made this late yesterday afternoon for my daughter's quickie on the go dinner. I didn't use processed cheese, but made my own cheese sauce using shredded cheddar. She loves mac and cheese and loves hotdogs, so of course, she thought this was super! Thanks Zaina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
Five stars just for the ease of this. I also used homemade cheese sauce (Nacho Cheese Sauce, from this site) and about a cup of it as we like it to be creamier. The baby LOVED this! I served it with fried fish without the hot dogs and then with the hot dogs for my non-fish eaters. Thanks Zania!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
everyone LOVED IT! i did change a few things. first i doubled it so that i could feed my family (4 of us) from one dish. (13x9) i buttered the pan to insure it didnt stick (and it would add great flavor to the dish too!) i added about a cup of cheddar jack shredded cheese and about a cup and a half of mixed veggies. and cumbled extra crackers in the mix. mixed all that together and then topped it with more cheese and parmasian and then the crackers too. afer salting and peppering to taste, it was so yummy! (oh and i used hot dogs instead of franks.) its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This recipe was AWESOME. Although seeing as I can never leave well enough alone, I made a few modifications. I added 1 tablespoon of Parmesan, to the sauce along with 2 tablespoons of both garlic and onion powders. Instead of just using extra old cheddar, I added in 1/4 cup of parmesan, this recipe was fantastic although next time I think i will cook it for 15 instead of 20 mins. I used 1lb of pasta, I found that was enough, there is no way 7 ounces would be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAVEANDCRAZY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I found this to be dry and not very cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Thank you! It was driving me crazy that I could not find a recipe like this. When I was pregnant, I used to make boxed mac & cheese and cut up hot dogs and cook it in it. Now I make it all the time for my son, who absolutely loves it. (Maybe because I craved it the whole time I was pregnant with him) Now I can try it without the box mac & cheese. Oh yeah, sometimes instead of hot dogs, i will throw some chicken nuggets into the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Easy to make. I like the flavor of northern Italian seasoning, so I use that instead of the oregano. Instead of process cheese sauce, I use 4 slices of american cheese melted with a couple tablespoons of milk. I make the cheese sauce in the microwave while the macaroni boils. My 2 year old eats this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thriftycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This was my first attempt at "home-made" mac and cheese. It was so easy and using the tip to make my own nacho sauce from the recipe on this site was a show stopper. Using hotdogs seemed a little weird, but the kids liked it. I used bread crumbs instead of crackers and it turned out great. I had dinner on the table in 30 minutes. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simon's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karisma
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Great for in a pinch. I added a dash of ground mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This is great !! It looks nice and quick especially for someone as busy as me.. Thanks Zaina i can't wait to try it and i will let you know how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by koleszar77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States