Easy Mac and Cheese Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Good portable snack, a little greasy, but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
As preparation for my 2-year-old's birthday party, we tried multiple versions of mac and cheese -- THIS RECIPE IS THE BEST HANDS DOWN. Other reviews mention that it is a bit bland, and so I added a little garlic powder and Ms. Dash. Also, I use RITZ crackers for the topping. The second time I made them, I completely forgot to add anything extra, and we hardly noticed the difference. They were a HUGE hit with both kids (ages 2-10) and adults at the birthday party!! We served all finger foods, so the mac-muffins were the way to go in that respect as well. I made them in mini-muffin tins, so they were a 3-bite type of appetizer. UPDATE: Maybe I was just in a Mac and Cheese mood when I previously gave this 5 stars, but I have made this at least 4 more times and it's just not as good as I remember. To be fair, I haven't been putting it into muffin tins, just a baking dish, but it's just not a 5 star for me anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
These came out even better than I was expecting, however I took the advice of other reviewers and tweaked the seasonings a bit to avoid a bland result. I added about 1/4 cup of sauteed finely chopped onion, a dash of garlic powder, pepper and about 1/4 cup grated parmesan in addition to the cheese in the recipe, and along with the recommended cheeses, I also used up a little shredded Mexican blend that I had on hand. I was worried about the mac n cheese setting correctly, so I added about a tbsp of flour - no idea if it really had an effect, but the end result (after cooling) was perfectly set but still moist. And more importantly, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I liked the idea of the muffin shape for mac and cheese. However, this really needs a cheese sauce, held together with a little flour. Made the way it calls for, the cheese clumped and the milk pooled in the bottom. Although they did stick together after cooling, the top half had no sauce on the noodles. I added garlic like another reviewer recommended, and it was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
We didn't love these. The muffin idea is a great one and I may use that again, but I really didn't care for the actual mac and cheese part- in the future, I will use my stand-by recipe and use the muffin cup idea. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This was an awesome recipe; we did a few modification though: we added garlic power, onion powder, and pepper into the bread crumbs, then we also added two tablespoons of cottage cheese into the mix. made it taste excellent. and just as a side note: I enjoy sugar in my mac and cheese! it's really good, try it sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I give these four stars, because I made a few changes. I added cheddar, mozzarella, smoked gouda, shredded parm, and a little bit of ricotta I needed to use up. Seasoned to taste with onion powder, garlic, S & P. Held there shape well. Will make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
The kids (and husband) LOVED thes! Although, I thought they were kinda bland even after I added garlic and onion powder. I will try this recipe again though. But definately make them the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is good and is a great idea. I will doctor it up a little next time because it was a little too bland for me--I like my spices! I usually use a little mustard, a pinch of thyme, a tad of sour cream and black pepper and an additional egg and more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Awesome! Although I did tweak the recipe a lot. For starters, I made my own breadcrumbs by tearing up a piece of bread, tossing it with salt and spices and drying it in the oven on 350 for about 5 minutes. I also used half the butter and added a tablespoon of chive and onion cream cheese to the noodle mixture and a tad less milk. I added more salt and pepper and spices (parsley, chili powder, garlic, oregano) to the noodles. I did not have cheddar so I used whatever cheese I did have. Colby, pepper jack, seasoned feta and horseradish cheddar slices that I tore up. I used a tad more than recommended. SO delicious. I think next time I might add some corn or pimentos or broccoli to the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States