Easy Mac and Cheese Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I doubled the recipe thinking to make 24 muffins, but it really made 20 muffins. I added onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, salt, pepper and just a touch of nutmeg to the mixture prior to baking. I also added a dollop of sour cream after adding the egg to add creaminess. I have no idea why the recipe calls for so much breadcrumbs. You only need a bit with which to top each muffin -- same goes for the reserved sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I added some bread crumbs into the macaroni mixture. If it looks too dry add some sour cream or plain yogurt to make it more moist. I also only used cheddar cheese, as that's what I had on hand. I followed another reviewer's advice and sprayed the tops with olive oil after I put the bread crumbs on to make it more crunchy. I make these in a mini size for a party, they were very well received. Oh, also, add some spices to the mixture. I think I used salt and pepper, onion and garlic powder, and smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I LOVE this recipe! To give it a somewhat 'fancier' flavor, I like to substitute half the olive oil with truffle oil - YUM. Also, I will add a cup of breadcrumbs to the mixture itself, in addition to just putting them on top. To serve at parties as an appetizer, I bake them in foil baking cups for easy serving and reheating (have tried both the small and large foil cups - both work great).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amynorell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountlake Terrace, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Made them and my husband loved them! He's a mac n' cheese guru...so that really says a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
They did turn out I just wasn't a fan of the mac n cheese recipe. If I make it again I will use a different recipe in the cupcake tins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I halved the recipe but used the whole egg. I added minced onion, red pepper flakes and Worcestershire for additional flavor after reading the reviews that said they were bland. I used extra sharp cheddar and romano cheese with no additional cheese on top but just a sprinkle of Panko on top. These are very good and a simple way to make individual portions of mac and cheese. Thanks! I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
super cute idea for mac and cheese! added seasonings as did most other reviewers (garlic and onion powders, cracked black pepper), and i omitted the oil in the topped as it seemed unecessary. these turned out to be creamy although i was worried they'd be dry. for some bizarre reason my kids wouldn't eat them, which is so weird - they love macaroni and cheese. but i thought they were good! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This is not the best mac and cheese I have ever tasted- but the presentation makes up for it. I used all cheddar instead of part mozzarella, but otherwise followed the recipe. They turned out great- kids loved them. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Made these this week~ I did read all the reviews, and added season salt, pepper and garlic powder to the mixture. They were delicious! The only small shaped pasta I had on hand were shells, and they worked as well. Thanks for a great recipe! my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I loved this recipe! I was so worried I was going to mess it up, but it ended up fabulous! My husband loved these so much! I don't understand why people in the reviews said they were bland. Maybe they did not use seasoned bread crumbs or put enough salt in the bread mixture. One thing I noted, I let them rest for at least 5 minutes. Mine slightly fell apart, but when I went for seconds they held their shape! Don't be afraid to put the bread crumb mixture or the cheese on top. The only thing I changed is I used whole wheat elbow macaroni. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States