Easy Mac and Cheese Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This was excellent with only slight modification and a very easy recipe which both adults and children devoured! Modifications: I added 1 tsp salt and 1tsp pepper and 2 dashes of cayenne pepper to the mac and cheese mixture. I also used plain Panko bread crumbs and added 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper, and a dash of cayenne to the bread crumb mixture before adding the olive oil. The tiny amount of cayenne pepper gave this recipe a little more flavor without being spicy. I did not use Mozzarella cheese as that seemed strange for a mac and cheese recipe. Instead, I used 3 cups of a mixture of shredded Cheddar, Gruyere, and American cheese (Harris Teeter sells their own brand of this "mac and cheese" ready shredded cheese mixture, which I used). The recipe was delicious and EASY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Great recipe. I substituted the macaroni with quinoa brand elbow macaroni noodles and the bread crumbs with Ian's brand Italian breadcrumbs that are gluten free to make it a celiac friendly recipe. My family didn't even know and loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I must've done something wrong, mine wouldn't stick together and stay in the shape of a muffin. But they still tasted pretty good! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLa_Land

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
It look very delicious and what I love about this it is perfect way to get a serve without over doing it. The only thing I would change, I would use whole wheat elbow macaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Yeah, mozzarella cheese was an exceptionally poor choice for this recipe. It got all stringy and was very difficult to incorporate. I did heat the macaroni mixture to get the mozzarella to melt and eventually got it incorporated enough to finish the recipe but next time I would definitely substitute jack cheese instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I didn't care for the topping. I think it will be better without it. The mac 'n cheese, however, was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
4 stars for the recipe as is, but 5 for the changes I made based off of other suggestions. It's great for my daycare babies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Very easy and simple and reheatable for people on the go. The last time I made it I made it with brown rice pasta and gluten free bread crumbs for a gluten free take...I also forgot the entire cup of milk by accident and they still came out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
was a lil dry and even tho i used alot of chz i would use more chedd than motz. motz doesnt melt same way. i also added panko and olive oil to bottom cupcake tin for crunch on bottom of each muffin. held together well....def bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Maybe it's because I like my macaroni and cheese creamy that I wasn't a big fan of this. It is anything but, but then I guess it would have to be on the dry side in order to keep its shape. I noted some of the reviewers' comments that this was bland, lacking flavor. Normally I dismiss comments like that, thinking that some people forget or don't appreciate what simple fresh flavors are or taste like. And in this case, I wondered how this could be any more bland than any other basic macaroni and cheese recipe, since the ingredients were essentially the same. But curiously this WAS bland, and it WAS rather flavorless, and I had even given it a good shot of King Arthur's Vermont Cheese Powder! And again, this was dry, all the sauce absorbed during baking, which won't appeal to others like myself who prefer creamy macaroni and cheese. So for me the macaroni and cheese itself was mediocre, forgettable. But I'll give it five stars for presentation and cuteness. Overall, I'll rate this four stars and call it a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States