Easy Lima Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Cooking ANY frozen or canned vegetable in chicken broth or beef broth makes a tremendous difference, believe me!! My neighbor across the street taught me this trick. No water, just broth. And cooked this exactly as stated (had never thought of the onions!) and was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
These were just like Mom's . I added corn . Then added smoked meat for that country taste and left out the onions. Awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I took the onions out before eating, personal preference. Also I added a bit of salt and pepper and some crispy bacon to top it off. YUM! Bacon makes everything better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
My children have been begging for Lima beans (they had tried some before and loved them!). I thought this recipe sounded great and the reviews were pretty good too. I used the recipe plus some of the suggestions from others-bacon grease, fresh minced garlic, extra salt and pepper, butter. I still found this recipe to be bland and needing A LOT more flavor. Disappointed for the first time with an all recipe. Angela
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I used a bag of large lima beans (they started out white in color) and used a base of leftover onion soup instead of chicken broth. I threw them in the crockpot to cook all day, then towards the end added some leftover chopped up ham chunks I had on hand just for the sake of using them. Very nice flavor with the onion soup base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Has a subtle but distinctive flavor. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Pretty goooood. But for goodness sake...add some salt and a touch of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennawattenbarger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
As they are, they're a little bland. They are, however, nothing like the mealy, unpleasant limas I remember from my childhood, so that was a pleasant surprise. I took Pomona's suggestions and added some green Tabasco and a little crumbled bacon to the finished product. Then, this was terrific - even my three year old scarfed hers down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pan-Fried Butter Beans

See how to make a flavorful, super-easy side for roasted meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States