Easy Lima Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
I am NOT a green vegetable fan, but my father in law loves limas. So when he asked for them for his birthday dinner, I came right to this site. And as usual, it didn't let me down! This recipe was wonderful-- easy and very tasty. I think I ate more than my FIL! The only deviation I made was I sauteed the onion in bacon grease and added butter before serving. No wonder I liked them! Seriously, easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
Easy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I don't care for lima beans, but my husband requested them as a side for dinner last night. I found this recipe, made it, and I am converted to a lima bean lover! I used regular lima beans (frozen) since that's what we had and I sauteed the onion in butter. I only simmered the beans for 15 minutes and they turned out so creamy on the inside and delicious. We'll be having this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
These turned out great! This is the way I will always make them from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This is a quick and tasty side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
I didn't quite make this recipie as stated, but I am sure it would be great. I didn't add any onion, as I didn't have any on hand. But would also be great with onion. I also added 1 tbsp of butter, just for butter's sake. Next time I will make it without butter, for a lowfat dish. It did need a dash of salt and pepper for seasonigs. I will make these nice, moist, flavorful beans again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
These lima beans were outstanding. I did add pepper and garlic powder so a little seasoning. I usually boil mine in water, butter, and brown sugar. I thought I would try something different since I'm trying to cut out on sugars. We all loved this recipe SOOOO much! This will be the only way I make them from now on! Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
My son hates lima beans, but loved this recipe. I used olive oil instead of cooking spray and also added 1 clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
for all you lima bean lovers down south, you don't need the fattening butter to make good limas........this is wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I personally do not care for lima beans but my hubby and daughter said they were excellent and gave them a 5! They said the chicken broth added such a nice flavor to the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pan-Fried Butter Beans

See how to make a flavorful, super-easy side for roasted meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States