Easy Lima Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
I didn't quite make this recipie as stated, but I am sure it would be great. I didn't add any onion, as I didn't have any on hand. But would also be great with onion. I also added 1 tbsp of butter, just for butter's sake. Next time I will make it without butter, for a lowfat dish. It did need a dash of salt and pepper for seasonigs. I will make these nice, moist, flavorful beans again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
I am NOT a green vegetable fan, but my father in law loves limas. So when he asked for them for his birthday dinner, I came right to this site. And as usual, it didn't let me down! This recipe was wonderful-- easy and very tasty. I think I ate more than my FIL! The only deviation I made was I sauteed the onion in bacon grease and added butter before serving. No wonder I liked them! Seriously, easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
These lima beans were outstanding. I did add pepper and garlic powder so a little seasoning. I usually boil mine in water, butter, and brown sugar. I thought I would try something different since I'm trying to cut out on sugars. We all loved this recipe SOOOO much! This will be the only way I make them from now on! Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
Very good. When the limas were done, I drained them, then added a little Country Crock, garlic salt, and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
These were pretty good but definitly need a little more spicing. I added pepper and garlic powder but some salt would have been nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
Easy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
Pretty good. Anything that gets Mab to eat vegetables=good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I don't care for lima beans, but my husband requested them as a side for dinner last night. I found this recipe, made it, and I am converted to a lima bean lover! I used regular lima beans (frozen) since that's what we had and I sauteed the onion in butter. I only simmered the beans for 15 minutes and they turned out so creamy on the inside and delicious. We'll be having this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
These turned out great! This is the way I will always make them from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Very Good!! The only change that I made was to use olive oil instead of cooking spray. Delicious and no guilt. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Pan-Fried Butter Beans

See how to make a flavorful, super-easy side for roasted meats.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States